We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the PI Newmarket and found the staff to be friendly & helpful, especially changing our room when our young son was ill last night. I loved watching the horses training through the restaurant window at breakfast, and the kids were able to relax and play in our spacious family room. We would be happy to return here when the special offers come available online. Big thanks to the staff who looked after us, particularly the lovely Thai cleaning ladies, and Rachel from Reception.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    147
    53
    13
    11
See reviews for
107
141
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed in the Premier Inn in Newmarket for a family get together. The hotel was lovely, very clean and the food was very good.

Some people say they had trouble with the parking but we went on a Saturday and the multi-storey opposite is free after 5pm on Saturday and all day Sunday so we did not have any problem, and it is only 2 mins from the hotel (just across the road).

The breakfast was well worth ordering, cooked fresh, and as much as you can eat. All the coffee and tea was kept topped up just what you need after a late night the night before.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again. All I would say is that, the earlier you can book the better price per stay you pay.

The staff in the hotel were great and made sure our stay was pleasurable.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel and on the first floor but did not hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

No parking on site. Have to leave your motor in NCP car park. We arrived on a Sunday when the car park was free. Had to crawl down before 8.00 to put money on the pay and display. so much for a lie-in, who planned this? Lovely new centrally located hotel which excited us at first. Corridor bitterly cold but rooms really well equipped and cannot be faulted in this respect. We had to change rooms as a motor in an adjacent service cupboard was causing headboard on our bed to vibrate. The second room (320) also had a noisy air conditioning vent in front of the front door so sleeping was still poor. The instructions for the room environment control was no help. Turned heating right down to minimise noise from fan and as a result spent a cold night with poor sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid room 323 as motors in service cupboard behind bed cause deep vibration making sleep difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having driven a long way looking for an hotel, without success, we came across the Premier Inn while driving into Newmarket. We were on a very busy intersection and saw the hotel, but had no idea how to approach it, or which road to take the find the entrance. We eventually parked in a side road, hoping not to get a ticket, and found the rather insignificant entrance.

We hadn't stayed in a Premier Inn before and were impressed with the standard of the room. It was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was well fitted with an excellent shower and the bed was very comfortable. The plumbing was a bit noisy during the night and I think I would have preferred a room away from the busy road.

We were offered a special rate of £110 for the room, a three course meal with a drink and breakfast for two people. It was very cold outside and we didn't want to walk around the town looking for suitable restaurants, so we took them up on the offer. We thought it represented very good value. The three course meal was quite good, although we would have preferred some lighter options on the menu. Breakfast was ok, the selection was good, but the quality not so good. The bacon should have been fried and those toasters that you operate yourself never make good toast!

Our only complaint was the fact that we had to park in the council car park opposite. There is no pull-in space to unload your car and surely the hotel could have some arrangement with the council whereby you could claim back the cost of your parking. It is also inconvenient having to remember to go out by 08:00 am next morning to put a ticket on your car.

My suggestion to Premier Inn, Newmarket would be that they display a large sign on the side of the building with a arrow pointing to the entrance. However, the standard was good and we will definitely be trying a Premier Inn in future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdwatcherhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here whilst visiting family in Newmarket. We found it pretty much faultless - clean, quiet, comfortable and excellent value for money. We got a good deal online. The reception staff were helpful, friendly and professional. Food excellent in the adjoining restaurant, which is tastefully decorated and warm. Staff could have been quicker off the mark in the restaurant, but that is a small criticism. The food was so good and so well presented - we didn't feel the need to look elsewhere for breakfast or evening meal. Our 7 year old granddaughter joined us for a free breakfast on one of the days - she loved it! There is a small pleasant bar area if you wanted just to have a quiet glass of wine. As we need to stay in Newmarket fairly regularly we will return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the 2nd time we have stopped at this hotel and it is a basic, newly built Premier Inn.

The room was fine, large and comfortable. Everything worked and we got a good night's sleep, probably because we asked for a quiet room away from the noisy road.

Staff were courteous and checked that we had paid for the next morning's car parking- saves getting a ticket! This is one of the main problems, as you have to use the Council car park, where charges apply from 8am to 4 pm. If it's raining, your cases get wet when you lug them across the road, so try to go on a dry day!

Breakfast in the adjoining Ormonde Table Table restaurant was excellent! What a selection for £8.25 and you can eat as much as you like! The "Full English" breakfast was cooked to order and was superb- but we know what we are going to get with any Whitbread restaurant, so are very happy. However, the service was rather poor on our first day, if rather better next day.

My main gripe is that we booked our stay some months ago and thought we would get the best deal. We paid £79 for 2 nights. Premier Inn later ran a special offer and we could have stayed for a total of £58. When I complained I was told that I should have booked at the refundable rate (even more than £79) and then cancelled and replaced it with the cheaper offer! Sounds like they prefer you to gamble, as if there had not been a special offer and I had left it to book nearer the time, I would have been charged double!

If you are thinking of staying in Newmarket, check with the Rutland Arms or Heath Court Hotels, as they often have better deals than the Premier Inn and have proper parking facilities. We're going to the Rutland Arms twice in January for family reasons, and you can stay there for just £20.13 per person (inc B & B) in their January sale!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the horse sales in December - receptionists were great and really helpful- restaurant staff were young and inexperienced and perhaps not as well trained as they should have been. They were all bunched up outside the kitchen door talking loudly about their personal lives. Food was average enough and we were told on two nights that key food on the menu was unavailable such as mashed potato and banoffe pie the next night -having ordered these before the youngsters returned to our table to tell us that we had to vhoise something else. Really funny thing is there is a massive waitrose right outside the window, might have sorted the potato issue out if someone had used a bit of initiative. Thank you hotel staff, restaurant staff please please get more training and make yourself aware to what is going on in your restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillfromCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
1.8 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Address: Fred Archer Way, Newmarket CB8 8NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoroughbred hotel just two miles down the road from the thrills of Newmarket Racecourses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing