We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed March 28, 2010

After two weeks on the road for business, I laughed when I arrived because I couldn't believe my company was paying for me to stay in such a lovely hotel! Everything about it was perfect, from the luxurious bed to the wonderful food to the friendly staff and the Molten Brown bath products. There is an impressive fitness center onsite equiped with a pool and dozens of pieces of cardio equipment and weight machines. The surrounding area is also beautiful, as it's located right next to a horse training center and is only a few minutes walk into the town center. A wonderful experience all around - I'd return in a heart-beat!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanssoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    199
    66
    26
    13
See reviews for
118
393
17
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed for one night for a birthday treat. Spotless room, well decorated and smartly furnished. There was a wedding on in the hotel but we were not disturbed at all. Excellent reception, cheefurl and swift.
Newmarket centre could be walked to and easy access to Cambridge from there.
Breakfast was a delight. Quick, polite service, great buffet for cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, rolls etc. Toast cooked on arrival and good selection of cooked dishes prepared to order. Very high quality food and presentation.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SENCoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We recently had a night away at the Bedford Lodge hotel for our wedding anniversary, and we had a lovely stay there.

As it was a special occassion, we decided to upgrade to one of the Executive Suites. That turned out to be a really good choice as our room was spacious and airy, and the ensuite bathroom was large and modern. There were all the usual amenities, a large TV, free wifi and Sky movies (though the TV reception was a bit dodgy on some of the channels occassionally). The superking bed was really comfortable and as it was quiet, we had a good night's sleep.

The gym and heated pool facilities were good.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and the bar service is friendly. Staff generally very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was good and the buffet acceptable.

The location of the hotel is great for Newmarket (10 min walk from town) but aside from the races, Newmarket isn't exactly the best place for sight-seeing. This isn't exactly a country house hotel with lots of grounds as such - more like a hotel in an area with lots of large country houses. However, that said, it is a lovely place with great food and service if you just want to get away for a night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoothemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed at the bedford lodge hotel on 21st Nov 09. I have stayed previously so knew what to expect and the high quality of this hotel. I have to say this time round i was slightly disappointed.
Last time we had a gorgeous executive suite which we must have been upgraded to as i only paid around £99.00. This time is stayed in a junior suite for £170 as i included dinner. I was told that these were lovely rooms and as good as the executive suites. i have to say i felt i was done over as they were no where near the size of the executive suites that i had previously stayed in or nearly as beautiful.
The food was lovely and service in the restaurant was very good. The reception however i felt werent as good as they could have been on check in as it felt it was an effort just to say hello. The hotel was very quiet and i felt that an upgrade could have been made as a gesture?! cheeky maybe?.
I felt let down this time around as it was an engagement present to my partner and i really expected more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbex87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Its a great hotel in a great location - though we were given a room with a horrible view.. nothing like what we had expected from the glowing reviews on TA!

The bathroom are really good and modern, the lobby and reception is also cool...we didnt go to pool... but it looked very nice. The breakfast was really good-lots of very nice corrosiants and danish pasteries and eggs and lots of free parking too...

So why then I think you shouldnt pay the full price... becuase it is basically a upmarket B&B and not a five star hotel! doesnt have teh full facilities that you come across in other hotels - only one small resturant! But overall, it is a very good B&B which we highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Great service, high standard of facilities for £100 a night. Good level of toiletries, excellent breakfast and beautiful location. I've stayed here before and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed here for one night on business, as we were at a conference during the day we arrived here about 10pm.

The hotel itself is in beautiful grounds with a modern twist to it, it is beautiful inside and the reception area is gorgeously decorated. I have been here before for a conference and found the hotel lovely then but seeing the rooms it is even more wonderful.

On arrival the receptionist was polite and it was a quick check in, the rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. The room was very tidy, as was the bathroom. The bathroom has Molton Brown smellies in it which is a very nice touch. The only let down in this hotel was the tellys, the rooms look as though they should have a plasma telly, instead they have old black ones which ruin the rooms look.

We had breakfast the next morning which was nice, you have the usual choice of cereal, fruits and yogurt in the centre of the room and then you order off the menu which breakfast you would like, we went for a full english which was very nice. Quick service too.

All in all I would definately stay at this hotel again for business or personal.

I can not fault it.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chars_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel

Property: Bedford Lodge Hotel
Address: 11 Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel is Newmarket's only four-star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourse, Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfect for a leisure or racing break. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Orangery Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing