We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something Special”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for my 40th during September, the experience from start to finish was exceptional nothing was too much hassle, I have stayed at many hotels for business around Europe, and so many state they are the best, bedford lodge hotel delivers in a understated way. We stayed at one of their suites which had ample size and high end furnishings. The added touches made this hotel, ranging from Molton Brown toiletries, to some of the finest tea I have sampled ( although disappointed finding out later the tea bags were part of the tetley group). It was the little things that went beyond the price stated even the lemon in water for your earl grey.
We stayed for two nights the breakfast was high end with once again service being a premium. The second evening we ate at the squires restaurant food was very good but the deconstructed lemon meringue pie was to die for. All in all a stunning hotel with excellent facilities for the price we paid I will not be surprised if this hotel is not up rated to a 5 star.
We are already planning another weekend away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank silkymanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    204
    64
    26
    13
See reviews for
123
400
18
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night following a days racing. Check was quick and informative, the bar prices was reasonable. The rooms were very nice, although there was some noise from the stables next door but it wasn't a real issue. The breakfast was of good quality and plentiful.....the price we paid was £170 which is a little over price but worth it for our occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolkhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for a wedding. In reception we were welcomed and they were very helpful when we had enquiries. The housekeeping was great, our room very comfortable and nicely furnished. Our only issue is we were given a disabled room, which we did not ask for or need.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room looking on to the beautiful garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Close from Cambridge in the nice little town of Newmarket.

The staff of the reception was globaly very arrogant and more than that, unefficient: we asked for a reservation in a restaurant in Bury, The Angel (very good by the way!) and nobody called... A friend of mine sent an e-mail to the hotel to tranmit his wishes for my birthday: nobody told me about it....We precised that we were coming for a special event and it is the 1st time that we didn't have a kind of "nice treatment" what we had in other English hôtels. The headwaiter in the restaurant was rude by not saying good bye when we left the restaurant (and he saw us) and by ignoring once my husband the next morning. Don't expect a personalised treatment, this hotel is done for business men. They say good morning when you arrive and good bye when you go. We travel a lot and in the other English hotels (to stay in England) we always had a nice contact with the staff: "Five arrows" in Wadesddon and especially at the Leaside hotel of Luton. Harold of the Victorian B&B in Turnbridge was very nice too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely cambs
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Bedford Lodge offers a great experience from the moment you walk into reception.The staff are polite,friendly and very helpful.
We stayed just one night after a wedding in the area and wished we could have stayed longer.We had lunch before hand and it was so good we thought about dinner but decided we ought to eat the food at the wedding.
Will go again given the opportunity
A very good resting place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBHElyCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our visit here was on a lovely hot August weekend and on arriving first impressions were great! You are greeted by a lovely patio area with tables for outside drinks and a small but very modern reception area. The girls on reception were very efficient and friendly.
We had paid a little extra to have a slightly larger room, but were disappointed to find you could barely swing a cat in the room so I'm not sure if they had forgotten to put us in a larger room or if the rooms are generally tiny... The decor was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom was well stocked with Molten Brown toiletries.
We tried out the health club after reading about the money spent and seeing some lovely photos.... THIS was I think the most disappointing part, the spa/health area shown on the website is a new addition to the hotel BUT it's in a separate building and not the area that hotel guests are free to use! Unless booking in for a treatment. The pool area was clean and empty enough but very tired and dated, the hair dryers were not terribly helpful and the showers very temperamental with hit and miss toiletries.
After a walk into Newmarket for the evening we came back to the hotel just before midnight and thought we would have a last quick drink but sadly the hotel was deserted and the bar all locked up, not a soul in sight. Very surprising.
Breakfast the following morning was lovely and again the staff friendly and helpful, an impressive choice of options.
Overall nothing terrible about our visit but it also didn't stand out as a place to hurry back too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefly2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from the Bedford lodge hotel and stayed in the junior suite. It was a lovely stylish large room with everything we could need. The bed was super comfortable. We ate at Squires restaurant and we had the best food we have had for a few years. Exquisite flavours, brilliantly put together, every mouthful was amazing. The staff were all very polite and very helpful. There is nothing to fault, we loved it and will definitely book in again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
698 reviews
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
475 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is Newmarket's only four Red star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourses, Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is perfect for a leisure or racing break, as well as corporate stays, along with state of the art conference rooms. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Squires Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing