We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recomended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here whilst attending Newmarket race night,we made a last minute booking through Bookings .com and got a great deal including breakfast. It worked out cheaper than the nearby Premier Inn. We received a warm friendly welcome, a pleasant air conditioned room with all facilities, presented in a clean and modern way. The bar and restaurant staff were all very friendly and attentive and overall had a fantastic stay and look forward to next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located on the edge of the town, within its own pleasant grounds, so its quiet and ideal as a base to go to The Races or to explore the surrounding countryside and sights. It is well appointed, as are the rooms, and it now has a new Spa area offering various treatments that pamper you. The bar snacks and breakfast were all excellent and the I cannot praise the highly attentive, efficient & friendly staff enough. This was the 5th year running my wife and I have stayed at this hotel and we are already looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: There are traditional styled rooms in the "old" part of the original building but those i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed in Newmarket area last week and paid £270. I paid £95 here so I did not expect too much. I was surprised to find a full service country hotel in the middle of Newmarket. The rooms are fully air conditioned, great bed with quality pillows and bedding and all the little touches you expect in a good 4 star.
Food was good and all the staff are friendly and professional from the receptionist to the turn down lady.
I would happily pay a lot more to stay here and twice as much when there was racing on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great hotel, pleasant staff, lovely rooms all as previous reviewers, so if you are using the hotel highly recommended.....but please do something with your association with The Jockey Club / Newmarket race nights.
the package would work well if a courtesy bus was laid on so as not to rely on the lack of organisation of the racecourse. Over 2 hours to get back to the hotel. if it was a one off - unfortunate, but according to staff, taxi drivers and incompetent stewards at Newmarket apparently this happens every year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilmaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was booked as a special birthday celebration for my friend we had booked the hotel,races and madness package through the hotel although the hotel is absolutely beautiful and would love to stay there again we were very disappointed with the organisation of travel back from the races to the hotel after the evening had finished, the staff at Newmarket were totally incompetent it was just chaos trying to get a taxi back we were told to join a que but other people were just coming out and stopping taxis before they got to the que we asked staff to do something as this wasnt fair but they didnt so being british we carried on waiting for 1 and 1/2 hours only to be told that there would be no more taxis by another useless member of staff and after everyone erupted with anger were told by someone else it was a mistake and there would be more, unfortunately this spoiled the event for us and would not go again I feel the hotel should organise a shuttle bus for people as part of the package because i would say that nearly everyone in the hotel was going to the same event and we were told by the taxi driver this happens all the time so there is no excuse!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a really good hotel with tasteful furnishings and exceptionally nice polite staff who are a credit to this hotel. The food is really nice and prices of food and drink are reasonable for a hotel of this standard. On the down side as it was a very hot day, we went for a swim to cool down in the indoor pool, but the temperature outside the pool was so hot it was quite unbearable to stay in the pool area too long. They do not have an outside area where you could have sat or sunbathed. We had booked this hotel as a Newmarket Summer Nights Package (Madness was the act) but the problem is you have to book your own transport to get to the Races and we were told you cannot pre book cabs to come home, you have to queue for the cabs. It took us 2 hours to get a cab which is ridiculous, the hotel should either run a courtesy bus or have an arrangement with a cab company to pre book for the return journey. This ruined a great evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are going to Newmarket this is the place to stay. We went racing last week and this was our first time staying here, it certainly won't be the last. We loved it. Beautifully decorated, friendly staff, convenient location. It is not cheap, but it is worth the extra cost for extra class.

Room Tip: Book months in advance if you are going to the racing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
7 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
752 reviews
19 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
12.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: 11 Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: $133 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is Newmarket's only four Red star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourses, Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is perfect for a leisure or racing break, as well as corporate stays, along with state of the art conference rooms. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Squires Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing