We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newmarket races package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was booked as a special birthday celebration for my friend we had booked the hotel,races and madness package through the hotel although the hotel is absolutely beautiful and would love to stay there again we were very disappointed with the organisation of travel back from the races to the hotel after the evening had finished, the staff at Newmarket were totally incompetent it was just chaos trying to get a taxi back we were told to join a que but other people were just coming out and stopping taxis before they got to the que we asked staff to do something as this wasnt fair but they didnt so being british we carried on waiting for 1 and 1/2 hours only to be told that there would be no more taxis by another useless member of staff and after everyone erupted with anger were told by someone else it was a mistake and there would be more, unfortunately this spoiled the event for us and would not go again I feel the hotel should organise a shuttle bus for people as part of the package because i would say that nearly everyone in the hotel was going to the same event and we were told by the taxi driver this happens all the time so there is no excuse!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 924 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a really good hotel with tasteful furnishings and exceptionally nice polite staff who are a credit to this hotel. The food is really nice and prices of food and drink are reasonable for a hotel of this standard. On the down side as it was a very hot day, we went for a swim to cool down in the indoor pool, but the temperature outside the pool was so hot it was quite unbearable to stay in the pool area too long. They do not have an outside area where you could have sat or sunbathed. We had booked this hotel as a Newmarket Summer Nights Package (Madness was the act) but the problem is you have to book your own transport to get to the Races and we were told you cannot pre book cabs to come home, you have to queue for the cabs. It took us 2 hours to get a cab which is ridiculous, the hotel should either run a courtesy bus or have an arrangement with a cab company to pre book for the return journey. This ruined a great evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are going to Newmarket this is the place to stay. We went racing last week and this was our first time staying here, it certainly won't be the last. We loved it. Beautifully decorated, friendly staff, convenient location. It is not cheap, but it is worth the extra cost for extra class.

Room Tip: Book months in advance if you are going to the racing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in June, perhaps the best hotel in Newmarket. Ground floor room at the back with a view of one of the Newmarket stables. The room was well appointed, love the Molton Brown products plus the bed and pillows were great, no trouble getting a good nights sleep. The Breakfast menu is excellent and the bar food is varied and well presented.

The negative points are it took 2 days to get a replacement kettle to the room, the coffee sachets in the room were not correctly replaced; service at the bar when it is busy can be a little slow and the room rate goes up dramatically on weekend Newmarket race days, 165 to 260.

The hotel has a thriving wedding trade which tends to spill over into the public rooms not leaving much space for other guests.

This is a good hotel that with just a little more attention to detail could be very good, but I will continue to use it as I still like it.

Room Tip: If you are not in one of the suites and want a quieter room then go for a room at the end of the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank griffin139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved it here. Nice room, spotless modern with lovely bathroom. Had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice with great service. Staff were excellent. Will definitely return and recommend. My only criticism is the restaurant is a bit dark in the back section and feels a bit gloomy so go for a table at the front .

Room Tip: If you want to watch the horses get a room overlooking the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The cheerful and very friendly receptionist let us check in early - room 223 (second floor at the far end of the hotel and in the roof!) which was a great start, as that helped us out enormously.

The young chap who came to sort out our inability to work the tv controls (embarrassingly twice!) had a lovely attitude and was so pleasant and didn't make us feel stupid - which we clearly were being! - at all.

The room was a good size, everything in it, in good repair. The bed was large, SO comfortable with lovely feather duvet - we both slept like logs - it was pin drop quiet outside too. The beverage tray had really nice shortbread biscuits and Teapig tea-bags and fresh coffee.

A fridge, hair dryer, safe and trouser press were all in the room

The bathroom had a powerful, piping hot shower, lovely big bath and super quality thick, soft towels. Moulton Brown toiletries given.

Breakfast was spot on. Nice choice of fruit, fruit juices, cereals, pain au chocolat, croissants, toast. Good range of 'full English' breakfast items plus smoked salmon, kippers,- well a large choice, I've forgotten them! Cooked to order they arrived very hot, fresh and tasty. The toast came warm, soft and nicely toasted.

The waiting staff were very friendly and pleasant.

I only wish we could have stayed longer it was so relaxing and pleasant being in the hotel.

We asked for the name of the mattress supplier the bed was THAT comfortable. By the time we got home - a couple of hours later - the kind receptionist had sent me an email with details!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great hotel & staff, good rooms/suites with good products (molten brown-tea pigs-fruit juices).
Hotel was easy to find with plenty of on site parking. Unfortunately we didn't have the breakfast (forgot all about it) but we did have room service one night which was nice and came within 20mins of ordering. Full sky package in rooms if you fancy catching a film or some sports event.
Compared to other hotels we have used when going racing in various parts of the country this place was without the doubt the best we have stayed in, and hopefully we'll be back there soon for another great weekend.

PS, beds are amazing......

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trubby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
730 reviews
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
485 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: $134 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is Newmarket's only four Red star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourses, Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is perfect for a leisure or racing break, as well as corporate stays, along with state of the art conference rooms. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Squires Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing