We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the pictures show”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better than the pictures show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved it here. Nice room, spotless modern with lovely bathroom. Had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice with great service. Staff were excellent. Will definitely return and recommend. My only criticism is the restaurant is a bit dark in the back section and feels a bit gloomy so go for a table at the front .

Room Tip: If you want to watch the horses get a room overlooking the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    197
    64
    25
    13
See reviews for
115
387
17
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
394 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The cheerful and very friendly receptionist let us check in early - room 223 (second floor at the far end of the hotel and in the roof!) which was a great start, as that helped us out enormously.

The young chap who came to sort out our inability to work the tv controls (embarrassingly twice!) had a lovely attitude and was so pleasant and didn't make us feel stupid - which we clearly were being! - at all.

The room was a good size, everything in it, in good repair. The bed was large, SO comfortable with lovely feather duvet - we both slept like logs - it was pin drop quiet outside too. The beverage tray had really nice shortbread biscuits and Teapig tea-bags and fresh coffee.

A fridge, hair dryer, safe and trouser press were all in the room

The bathroom had a powerful, piping hot shower, lovely big bath and super quality thick, soft towels. Moulton Brown toiletries given.

Breakfast was spot on. Nice choice of fruit, fruit juices, cereals, pain au chocolat, croissants, toast. Good range of 'full English' breakfast items plus smoked salmon, kippers,- well a large choice, I've forgotten them! Cooked to order they arrived very hot, fresh and tasty. The toast came warm, soft and nicely toasted.

The waiting staff were very friendly and pleasant.

I only wish we could have stayed longer it was so relaxing and pleasant being in the hotel.

We asked for the name of the mattress supplier the bed was THAT comfortable. By the time we got home - a couple of hours later - the kind receptionist had sent me an email with details!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great hotel & staff, good rooms/suites with good products (molten brown-tea pigs-fruit juices).
Hotel was easy to find with plenty of on site parking. Unfortunately we didn't have the breakfast (forgot all about it) but we did have room service one night which was nice and came within 20mins of ordering. Full sky package in rooms if you fancy catching a film or some sports event.
Compared to other hotels we have used when going racing in various parts of the country this place was without the doubt the best we have stayed in, and hopefully we'll be back there soon for another great weekend.

PS, beds are amazing......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trubby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
257 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were in Newmarket for a family reunion nearby, and were steered by the cousins to the Bedford Lodge Hotel. Gorgeous big rooms, nice service and amazingly good food in the hotel's restaurant where we ended up eating all three nights after checking out the alternatives. It does have the feel of a big conventions and weddings venue, but that was in truth the only negative. And within a very short walk, you can watch the famous Newmarket racehorses progressing down the paths to and from, and galloping on the Newmarket "gallops" - spectacular expanses of grass and dirt tracks where hundreds, maybe thousands of racehorses from the surrounding "studs" (stud farms) get their workouts each morning.

Room Tip: The suites are a lovely extravagance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMac_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just spent two days at thus wonderful accommodation in Newmarket. Welcoming staff, excellent facilities, high quality products in the room. An excellent choice for anyone wanting something a little special

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good facilities friendly welcoming unpretentious staff, loved the quality products that you don't find in hotel chains, Molton Brown toiletries, tea pigs teas, filter coffee in the room.
Good selection of wine, nice food, great breakfast delivered to the room at no extra charge, comfy beds we will return!

Room Tip: Room 211 by lift so some noise particularly in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a party of 4 to celebrate a birthday.

We had a number of unsatisfactory episodes during our stay and although the staff are polite they seem to be very poorly trained! The Management seemed completely disinterested when presented with our complaints and responded by saying "it did appear that the kitchen was not firing on full cylinders", which when going away for a special occasion is not the kind of response one would expect!

The rooms are comfortable and the food is good however the service and attitude of the management lets this hotel down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel

Property: Bedford Lodge Hotel
Address: 11 Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel is Newmarket's only four-star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourse, Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfect for a leisure or racing break. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Orangery Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing