We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in Newmarket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Rutherglen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Newmarket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just spent two days at thus wonderful accommodation in Newmarket. Welcoming staff, excellent facilities, high quality products in the room. An excellent choice for anyone wanting something a little special

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    198
    64
    25
    13
See reviews for
115
388
17
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good facilities friendly welcoming unpretentious staff, loved the quality products that you don't find in hotel chains, Molton Brown toiletries, tea pigs teas, filter coffee in the room.
Good selection of wine, nice food, great breakfast delivered to the room at no extra charge, comfy beds we will return!

Room Tip: Room 211 by lift so some noise particularly in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a party of 4 to celebrate a birthday.

We had a number of unsatisfactory episodes during our stay and although the staff are polite they seem to be very poorly trained! The Management seemed completely disinterested when presented with our complaints and responded by saying "it did appear that the kitchen was not firing on full cylinders", which when going away for a special occasion is not the kind of response one would expect!

The rooms are comfortable and the food is good however the service and attitude of the management lets this hotel down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past and usually go there for a race weekend in July/ August. We have sometimes booked direct but this time booked through Booking.com. Unfortunately due to a last minute emergency we had to cancel our room at 1115am on the morning of our booking.Whilst I do appreciate that the terms and conditions of the booking stated clearly that we would have to pay in full if we cancelled 24hrs prior to arrival, we found the attitude of this hotel quite curt and insensitive to our request to receive some refund.

I did send an email stating that I was quite prepared to pay a cancellation fee but received a reply which was unbelievably straight to the point and hiding behind their terms and conditions. I also sent an email to the manager which has so far been ignored.

There are not too many good hotels in Newmarket and this is one of the few, so I guess they know this and really don't care as the options are limited. This is a good hotel but be very aware that they are pretty insensitive to customer care when it comes to something like the experience I had.

Room Tip: Don't go there if you might have to cancel at the last minute !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellington09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a 5 night break at this hotel, we can highly recommend this hotel. We stayed in a junior suite for 4 nights and a superior suite for 1 night, we were only supposed to being staying here for 3 nights but the hotel were able to fit us in for 2 more nights. The rooms were lovely plenty room and very quiet. The service throughout the hotel was excellent and the breakfast was very tasty plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay, the hotel is excellent , the staff very helpful,the leisure facilities great and the weather was brilliant . Bedford Lodge is situated on the Bury Road home to some of the best racing stables in the country. Newmarket is a great place to visit with plenty to see and experience .There are some good places to eat in the town including The Pantry the carrot cake was scrummy. Food in the hotel was very good and the breakfast cooked to order and to perfection .Well done to everyone at the Bedford Lodge and thank you .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 484apple484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I decided to surprise my wife with a one night stay at Bedford Lodge Hotel and would highly recommend it for anyone looking to stay in a great location for a relaxing break. Ideally situated within Newmarket - convenient location but not to close to the road or town centre.

The front grounds of the hotel are very well presented and give you a great welcome. After parking up went into reception and met with a friendly front of house team. We were checked in a matter of moments which was brilliant and my wife and I enjoyed how the reception staff were helpful and polite yet seemed genuinely interested in us as individuals and not just another number (this was also the same on check out).

I booked an executive suite online as it really wasn't that much more than than over rooms and I thought we would benefit from the extra space. It's a shame that the hotel doesn't publish more pictures of rooms on its website to give a real sense of the rooms (especially with respect to the suites). The price was very competitive especial given the facilities on offer and rates charged by comparable hotels in Cambridge.

My wife and I were so pleased with the suite and it was just what we wanted. TVs with Sky box (incl movies), WI-FI (no complicated setup required), brilliantly comfortable bed and pillows, welcoming items such as fruit, chocolates, biscuits and excellent array of Molton Brown toiletries (not even the usual very small items either)! We also liked how the suites have a private corridor that you access with a room key so that you are not awoken by lots of people walking past in the middle of the night. The bathroom was also spacious with his and her sinks - great for getting ready in the morning. The decor of the room fitted with the age of the property.

We opted for dinner in the bar area which I have to say was the only slightly negative experience of the stay. It just felt like the food was a bit mass catering and in hindsight we may have eaten in the restaurant to see if we were more impressed. I also am not a fan of adding 10% optional service charge for bar service (especially when we ordered at the bar) - given you have to sign amounts to your room why not have a space at bottom of the receipt for tips so you can choose how much to add (maybe more or less than 10%).

We had a restful night - the place was very quiet and once again the bed was such a dream. We often stay in 4 & 5 star hotels both in UK & overseas with beds far less comfortable than the one in our suite here.

We opted for breakfast in bed the next morning for the latest slot available, ticking most items on the menu! Very impressed with quality and quantity of food supplied - we appreciate the Bedford Lodge hotel preference to use local suppliers. Also pleasing to note that no additional charge was made for us having breakfast in bed rather than in the restaurant which is often made at some hotels.

Overall we had a great stay at Bedford Lodge Hotel and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the Newmarket area whether for a night or long weekend. We definitely would also recommend paying for an executive suite especially if you just want to relax in the room rather than using all the various facilities on offer at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel

Property: Bedford Lodge Hotel
Address: 11 Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel is Newmarket's only four-star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourse, Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfect for a leisure or racing break. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Orangery Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing