We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful high quality hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at The Bedford Lodge for 3 nights and it was easily the best hotel we have stayed at in the area. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel welcome and our room was just gorgeous with lovely views to the gardens. There is a great bar and top quality restaurant which we made great use of!
Can't recommend this hotel highly enough, see you again in June!

Room Tip: Bright sunny room on the ground floor was fantastic.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianm2005everton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 912 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is bar the best hotel we have stayed in , staff A1 room again A1 , and then you have Newmarket, again[ sorrry] Wow What a town.
Pool was brill, Eveing meal what can I say out of this world Staff were so good. Breakfast was cooked to order again A1

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliffr104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really lovely hotel, the rooms, the food very good, the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, definitely recommend the hotel. Could not fault anythingl. Spa will be opening soon, this will add to the whole package.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cockneysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

good hotel, but i cant help but think its massively overpriced they obviuosly do a good turnover with the racing fraternity ,rooms fine with a view over stables, couldn't get booked in the restaurant which was annoying and with hindsight i think a booking should have been offered when we booked the room, ate in the bar which we found to be just average ,was very busy due to the races and i just expected a lot more for my money ,not cheap by any means. dont get me wrong i dont mind paying top dollar if its worth it but i didnt feel this was.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilberdyke1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I consider myself lucky enough to be a member of the Edge Fitness Centre, situated within the Bedford Lodge Hotel. I am able to go to the gym virtually on a daily basis and really enjoy the workout followed by a very relaxing swim in the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.

Once showered and changed I enjoy going for coffee at the hotel with friends where you can relax, yet again, in very nice surroundings. Once in a while I enjoy lunch at the hotel where the food is really first class.

I have got to know some very nice people at this gym and the staff there are very good, encouraging, vigilant and very helpful.

A new spa is due to open this summer at the hotel which will cater mainly for the female community. Also new classes have started at the gym which include spinning, pilates, aerobics and martial arts and which are proving very popular and enjoyable.

This location is ideally situated in Newmarket, close to many studs, the national horse museum and I can say that I am receiving total satisfaction from my daily visits to this gym and hotel and can really recommend a visit either to the hotel, the gym or both.

Dan Stannard

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

TOP MARKS.
Stayed for 2 nights over the Easter break, and was very impressed. All the staff had clearly been well trained and were polite, helpful and friendly. The meal and wine in the restaurant was a little on the expensive side, but wow was it good. The Blue cheese ice cream was to die for.

My only niggle was that there was a 10% service charge added to the restaurant meal and the meal we had in the bar. Although it was shown as discretionary, it was added unless you had to ask to have it removed. I prefer to leave my own tips as and when i see fit depending on the service i receive. However as the service was outstanding, and the paperwork assures customers that the service charge goes direct to staff, I was happy to pay.

Bed was super comfy but some may find them too soft.

Top marks for service, cleanliness, food etc etc. A great base for a short break to look around Ely and Cambridge. Pool was super too in case the weathers not great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano_F1_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The quality of the rooms is high. Staff are always very helpful and the location is good with just 5 mins walk to Newmarket town centre. The restaurant is formal with high end quality and small portions. Bar area is OK but could do with more room at times and I would prefer some real ales to choose from. Price is at the high end.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
484 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: $132 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is Newmarket's only four Red star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourses, Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is perfect for a leisure or racing break, as well as corporate stays, along with state of the art conference rooms. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Squires Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing