We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Looked forward to 3 nights R&R and from the outside thought it was ideal. Disappointed with the standard room the long corridor felt like a travel lodge not a country house. Breakfast was good. We ate in the restaurant 2 nights and food was expensive and over fussy, ate in the bar the third night and had the worst chicken Caesar served in a very hot bowl so lettuce had wilted. Staff were not very engaging, perhaps that's because of the service charge added to everything they don't seem to think they have to work for it. I didn't see the duty manager speak to any guests in the time we were there and the only smile and interaction from reception was when we paid the bill. The lady who came to do turn down was very helpful. It's a shame really because it doesn't cost anything to make people feel welcome but we won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkinsBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    198
    64
    25
    13
See reviews for
115
388
17
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the beautiful bedford lodge hotel over the valentines period for a couple of days, as we had been there before for a friends wedding and really enjoyed it,again the friendliness of the staff didn't disappoint nothing was to much trouble even though I'm very fussy and picky I honestly couldn't pick any faults at all. The food and drink was of the highest quality and we loved the decor of the restaurant and the bar area. The room was very nicely decorated too and very spacious as well. We also used the other facilities including the pool, sauna and jacuzzi and again were all of a very high quality. All in all we were again leaving very happy customers and look forward to coming back in the not so distant future, maybe for our wedding!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is top quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glitter246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, clean, breakfast was good quality, staff in general were very good, it's a pity the bar staff were un-attentive and dis-interested, over the two night stay the bar staff spent both evenings chatting, instead of checking/asking the customers if they would like another drink. A couple from the restaurant even had to come to the bar area to collect the drinks they ordered, which were just left sitting on the bar for 10 minutes.
Such a pity this experience let down a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor over-looking the racing stables are good, we stayed in room 134 which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A friend and I had a lovely stay here. On arrival we were greeted by Eleanor who checked us in and showed us to our room, I'm sure she didn't need to , but it was a really nice touch that was very much appreciated. Our room was very well appointed and spotless. One thing we both noticed was the lovely fresh smell that was present throughout the hotel.
When we returned from a dinner with friends we went to the bar ( it was gone midnight) and the bar man that greeted us was also very friendly and helpful. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. I bet the gardens look fab in the summer .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked a private dining room for a small, intimate wedding dinner and goodbye dinner for the groom who was off to Afghanistan. The first thing that happened was we were upgraded to a suite and everything after that just got better and better. The staff could not do enough for you! They are all so pleasant and friendly and helpful! We had a gentleman called Jonathan who was on hand to ensure our dinner went without a hitch. And it did, he was warm and witty with all the guests and completely in tuine with everything we needed. The food was excellent as was the wine. Our extra guests who arrived for drinks were accomodated and everyone was made to feel so welcome.

My day was made so special by so many people and Bedford Lodge definitely contributed. I would use this hotel for every celebration and apparently their Sunday lunches are amazing too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at this very comfortable hotel for 3 cold nights, late February. All the staff were charming and very friendly and the service was 1st class throughout our stay. The food in the bar was excellent, as was the breakfast, and any request to staff was not too much trouble. A thoroughly enjoyable experience - we will go back and recommend to friends and business colleagues.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the stables are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Bedford Lodge Hotel. Checking in was easy and simple. Nice reception and easy on the eye. Staff very helpful. The room disappionting for the money. Where there had been scuffs on the walls there was dabs patches of paint that stood out. But very clean. The room was large but plain and basic, though the bathroom was nice and roomy. Room was first in the corridor and was constant traffic passing outside at night. Staff were helpful especially James at the bar. Room service was prompt but they managed to get our order wrong. In the evening we ate in the Squires restuarant it was oppressive and dark. Waitress didnt know what the other was doing. We was asked several times about the same thing. The food overrated, overpriced and bland. . Breakfast was the same. Would we stay there again. No way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel

Property: Bedford Lodge Hotel
Address: 11 Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel is Newmarket's only four-star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourse, Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfect for a leisure or racing break. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Orangery Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing