We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel, good centre to visit Cambridge & Ely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel, good centre to visit Cambridge & Ely”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Set in pretty grounds, just 10 minutes walk from the shops & restaurants of Newmarket & 15 minutes by train to Cambridge. Handy to visit local villages & the town of Ely where the guided tour of the cathedral was a highlight of our short break.

Service was great, food was beautifully presented although not always as tasty as it looked.

Room Tip: Lots of choice on the breakfast buffet but fresh fruits & tomatoes lacked flavour as did some pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    204
    64
    26
    13
See reviews for
123
400
18
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October, we had an Executive Suite No.5. The room was gorgeous; of a large size, with kingsize bed which was extremely comfortable, sofa and armchairs, desk and TV with sky (which my partner loved as he could still watch sports!). The bathroom was huge, with shower and bath, his and hers sink and toilet, they even supplied free Molton Brown toiletries which smelled lovely. There is a large wardrobe to hang clothes, also tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge (which had fresh milk, water, juices and chocolates all complimentary). Room was spotlessly clean and had fragrances dotted throughout around which gave it a wonderful smell. The room over looked the outside gardens (which are absolutely gorgeous) and car parking area, directly below was the bar and restaurant but didn't hear much noise at all so you would never have known it was there. On the second night we ate in the squires restaurant; the food was out of this world and the service throughout the night was faultless. I had a pork starter, steak main and strawberry type dessert and all were fabulous, especially the steak which is defiantly the best I have ever tasted and cooked exactly the way I asked. My parter had a prawn starter, steak main and dessert and again he was extremely pleased with all his dishes. Would defiantly recommend eating there, and don't let the price put you off, as even though it is not the cheapest, the quality of the food is worth it. Breakfast was again to a high standard and even thought it was very busy, service was quick. Breakfast consisted of Bacon, Sausage, Tomato, Mushroom, a choice of eggs and toast, you could also add extra items such as beans or black pudding if you required. All in all the hotel offered us an exceptional service all round and nothing was no much trouble for them. All staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel is clean throughout and very modern looking, which is nice as most of Newmarket's other hotels have that faded worn out look.
I would defiantly recommend anyone coming to Newmarket to use this hotel as you certainly won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Executive Suite No.5 is fab, well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MersyandCarl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for our 10th anniversary. We had the executive suite which is huge. Massive bed with separate seating area with tv and magazines. Desk if needed for business users. Lovely clean bathroom with toiletries. Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, clean rooms and tasty cooked breakfast. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassmk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Scraped the acess to the room and the bathroom door as no space for a wheelchair. No rails on side of wc to push up. Very bad indeed. Sink is 9" to high. Bed great restaurant fantastic, staff brilliant, reception said they would take action so easy for us disabled folks. If done I will be so happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordlodge, Manager at Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback once again. We recently opened 22 superb new bedrooms with separate showers and super King size beds etc. included in that was a superb new disabled room, fully equipped for all eventualities. Unfortunately this room had been sold to another guest with specific needs and therefore was unavailable to you. Hopefully next time you return we can book you into this room, if it is available.
I was so pleased to read your comments about the rest of the hotel, and in particular the food and the staff, many of whom were here on your last visit. I was also very happy to see you had reconsidered visiting us after your previous visit.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just been to Newmarket and stayed at this well situated four star hotel that catered our every need.
We ate in both bar and restaurant and we found both to be of a high standard.
Hotel was nicely appointed and very clean with staff very helpful in all aspects,with restaurant staff
very knowledgeable about their food, and provided us with excellent service.
We chose this hotel for it's location as it was within a short drive to the Newmarket races and were not disappointed with our choice and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich England
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

my wife and i stayed here on Friday night after losing all my money at the races lol. couldnt find fault with anything at this hotel, the staff were friendly, great room with a view over the horse stables, had dinner in Squires which was excellent along with a full english breakfast although a bit pricey. molton brown toiletries in the bathroom and bottled water and biscuits.
the bed was really comfy. we would def return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkertwotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited the hotel in Oct to celebrate my mother-in-laws birthday. We had a family dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday. The service was good and all the food very nice. We then had a private room (the Cambridge room) for a sunday lunch party. Again the food was good and the service excellent. The room was very nice and cosy for the gathering and we felt very well looked after. The facilities were also good and the pool area was clean, with a good sauna and steam room. My only issue was that the hot tub was not hot - but rather tepid. But we would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the garden which is lovely. Others face over neighbouring stables. So all depends if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
697 reviews
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
0.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is Newmarket's only four Red star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourses, Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is perfect for a leisure or racing break, as well as corporate stays, along with state of the art conference rooms. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Squires Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing