We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price - But Timewarp Bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Firstly, the rate obviously matters with some of the previous reviews. We stayed here as a couple with a dog for £110 for two nights (not inc. breakfast), and that was good value. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the room clean and well furnished. But the bathroom was straight out of the seventies - revolting, dated decor and past it's best.

The location was fine for views and quite quiet, also not far from the train station. Newmarket itself, however, is a hellhole, which I didn't expect. Shame.

Room Tip: Some seem to be charged for bringing a dog. We were not, so if taking pets, check with the central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 458 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

This hotel requires a total refurb, it is stuck in the 1970's. They have a few plasters hiding some flaws, but it fails to hide the fact. The waiting staff have no idea, on both nights seperate waiters were unable to advise on the menu. One night we asked a very simple question " what is a syllabub". He had to go away and ask someone, he never had a clue. The morning waitress, had torn and dirty trousers. The meet at the carvery was so dry and overcooked.
The room was very hot as it faced south, the windows, although very dirty gave no shade. The air com was too noisy to use. On teh bottom sheet of the bed there was a blood stain.
Throughout my three nights, doors were banging all night long, noise easily passed through teh walls, and it smely musky in some areas. All in all a very bad experience for the £80 per night price. I will NEVER use this hotel again

Room Tip: To get the best room, do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B5TRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We were charged £80 per night for room only and it was an absolute rip off!

The room was tiny with no outside window - our room overlooked the corridor! As a result the room had a foisty smell because there was no way of getting any fresh air into it. The bathroom was like a sauna and very dirty! There was a loud banging noise throughout the night which we think was from the boiler meaning we were absolutely knackered the next morning - always great when you have a wedding to attend!

The only positive thing to say is that the room did have air con which was a god send.

Our advice - stay anywhere but here (even if that means pitching a tent!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_L82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Owner at Best Western Heath Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

If it is such an awful hotel why did you stay? When you check into a room you either like it or you dislike it and if you disliked it so much what did you do about it? Did you ask to be moved? Did you tell us you did not like the room and would like to go elsewhere? Or did you just sit there and do nothing?

If any guest after checking in wishes to leave as they do not like our property we don't and won't stop them but don't stay with us and then post a review saying don't stay to everybody else how hypocritical can you get.

I suggest in future you make an effort to resolve your issues rather than running home after the event and writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Oh dear. The hotel isn't much to look at from the outside and sadly doesn't improve upon entering. The reception and communal areas are decorated in an interesting style - a makeover is much needed. However (and here comes the only positive bit of this review) room 32 was very spacious, did have an exterior window (unlike the smaller rooms - beware!) and was clean. The television was very elderly, the shower requires that you move around to get wet and the single glazing allows you to enjoy the sounds of the car park all night. Breakfast is of poor quality - undercooked hash browns, dishes not cleared and food spattered on the walls. (Sorry, this does seem to be very negative doesn't it?!) Oh and just to top it all we were rudely awakened at midnight by a party who had been given electronic keys to our room because the night porter belived the room to be empty. Not a pleasant surprise. They must have been completely traumatised seeing me in the PJs - and we weren't too impressed either. To add insult to injury customer services at Best Western have not responded to my e-mail after 48 hours. Pretty poor Best Western. Must try harder.
If you must go to this hotel then be sure to eat at Prezzo just across the road and visit Ely - it's lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimiWorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Hotel was sign posted from the Centre of the Town and can been seen from the roadside. It has its own free crowded car park in front of the hotel. Stayed in Room 31 on the second floor, which can be accessed from stairs or a lift.

Inside the room was warm and clean, with a Flat Screen TV, Trouser Press, Tea and Coffee Making Facilities, En-Suite bathroom at the end of the room with a shower mixer tap on the bath.

Hotel Room doors are activated by Key Cards.

I was woken in the night by hotel room doors slamming as they are not fitted with dampers.

There is a bar located on the ground floor.

Had a walk down the high street of the town centre on Saturday night. The hotel is located about a five minute walk from the town centre high street shops and pubs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chestertouristcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here for access to the Race Course.
Reception and bar staff were pleasant enough. Double room was incredibly small. Very tired and old decor. Room positioned with window along a walkway so people could look in. Served frozen hash browns for breakfast. Chef stuck his finger in it to check. This hotel wasn't cheap to stay in either. Avoid, unless the camp site is full.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkShendishManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed here for 12 days for a course, and would say this is a comfortable but average hotel.

The good points
- The room was comfortable, with TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
- The staff were extremely friendly
- The location was brilliant, just off the High Street in Newmarket.
- The room service was quick and the food I ordered was great.

The bad points
- The service in the Restaurant was slow (despite room service being quick)
- The choice for breakfast could have included croissants and cakes (although there was a choice of cooked breakfast, cereals, yoghurt, limited fruit and toast).
- Attention to detail (tins of polish left on the side at breakfast one morning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
0.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
0.2 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
42 reviews
2 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Heath Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Heath Court Hotel

Address: Moulton Road, Newmarket CB8 8DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: $65 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Heath Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Heath Court Hotel is just 350 yards from Newmarket's Town Centre which offers a wide variety of independent and national retailers The Towns two race courses are a short car drive away. Hotel facilities include a restaurant, free parking, free WiFi and 24-hour reception. Our restaurant offers a wide selection of dishes, and Tipsters Bar has a patio area for guests to enjoy a drink or meal outside. The hotel stands at the bottom of the Warren Hill Gallops where horses can be seen training daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Heath Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newmarket
Newmarket Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing