We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear - must try harder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Oh dear. The hotel isn't much to look at from the outside and sadly doesn't improve upon entering. The reception and communal areas are decorated in an interesting style - a makeover is much needed. However (and here comes the only positive bit of this review) room 32 was very spacious, did have an exterior window (unlike the smaller rooms - beware!) and was clean. The television was very elderly, the shower requires that you move around to get wet and the single glazing allows you to enjoy the sounds of the car park all night. Breakfast is of poor quality - undercooked hash browns, dishes not cleared and food spattered on the walls. (Sorry, this does seem to be very negative doesn't it?!) Oh and just to top it all we were rudely awakened at midnight by a party who had been given electronic keys to our room because the night porter belived the room to be empty. Not a pleasant surprise. They must have been completely traumatised seeing me in the PJs - and we weren't too impressed either. To add insult to injury customer services at Best Western have not responded to my e-mail after 48 hours. Pretty poor Best Western. Must try harder.
If you must go to this hotel then be sure to eat at Prezzo just across the road and visit Ely - it's lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimiWorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 451 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Hotel was sign posted from the Centre of the Town and can been seen from the roadside. It has its own free crowded car park in front of the hotel. Stayed in Room 31 on the second floor, which can be accessed from stairs or a lift.

Inside the room was warm and clean, with a Flat Screen TV, Trouser Press, Tea and Coffee Making Facilities, En-Suite bathroom at the end of the room with a shower mixer tap on the bath.

Hotel Room doors are activated by Key Cards.

I was woken in the night by hotel room doors slamming as they are not fitted with dampers.

There is a bar located on the ground floor.

Had a walk down the high street of the town centre on Saturday night. The hotel is located about a five minute walk from the town centre high street shops and pubs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chestertouristcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here for access to the Race Course.
Reception and bar staff were pleasant enough. Double room was incredibly small. Very tired and old decor. Room positioned with window along a walkway so people could look in. Served frozen hash browns for breakfast. Chef stuck his finger in it to check. This hotel wasn't cheap to stay in either. Avoid, unless the camp site is full.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkShendishManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed here for 12 days for a course, and would say this is a comfortable but average hotel.

The good points
- The room was comfortable, with TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
- The staff were extremely friendly
- The location was brilliant, just off the High Street in Newmarket.
- The room service was quick and the food I ordered was great.

The bad points
- The service in the Restaurant was slow (despite room service being quick)
- The choice for breakfast could have included croissants and cakes (although there was a choice of cooked breakfast, cereals, yoghurt, limited fruit and toast).
- Attention to detail (tins of polish left on the side at breakfast one morning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Understandably the hotel was fully booked and our room was not one of the nicer rooms. It was tired and shabby particulary the bathroom.The bed room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
We didn't have breakfast as we hoped to beat the snow home - failed miserably on that one!
The staff particulary on reception worked very very hard and were delightful. A nice touch in the morning were the ice scrappers and de-icer spray put out for customers to borrow.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My mother's birthday present was an overnight trip to Newmarket. My initial reservations about the hotel were formed by the pictures and reviews here, therefore, when we arrived on our excellent DBB rate to our large, clean room and lovely bathroom, I was delighted (we had been upgraded). The 3 course dinner was served by a delightful hard-working young lady who was still smiling at breakfast the next morning. Thank you all for making my mother's trip a success.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Upon arrival the receptionist was very misarable and not very welcoming. She was unsure if our dog could stay even though we had booked a room which enabled us to bring the dog online, we had even paid extra for the dog. Whilst walking to our room which i think was room 4 i thought what had i let myself in for as the corridors were very dark and dreary. However when i entered the room i was shocked. It was massive with a single bed and a big double. There was 3 of us staying plus a dog. The room was spotless and smelt fresh, not a speck of dust to be found anyway. The tv was fairly old fashioned but that was not an issue for me. The bathroom was of a large size, and even had a pair of scales in. The bath was a large corner one.
I didnt have breakfast as i felt it was over priced with a weatherspoons being just around the corner. I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
924 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
42 reviews
7.8 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Heath Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Heath Court Hotel

Address: Moulton Rd, Newmarket CB8 8DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: $77 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Heath Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Heath Court Hotel is just 350 yards from Newmarket's Town Centre which offers a wide variety of independent and national retailers The Towns two race courses are a short car drive away. Hotel facilities include a restaurant, free parking, free WiFi and 24-hour reception. Our restaurant offers a wide selection of dishes, and Tipsters Bar has a patio area for guests to enjoy a drink or meal outside. The hotel stands at the bottom of the Warren Hill Gallops where horses can be seen training daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Heath Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newmarket
Newmarket Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing