We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying With Friends”
Review of Byerley House

Byerley House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Byerley House
Ranked #3 of 11 Newmarket B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Byerley House looks so much like a residence I had to study the building carefully before knocking.

Inside, I found what felt like a family-run bed-and-breakfast, with delightfully creaky floors but all-modern amenities. No formal "office" that I could discern; the lady on duty seemed to be listening for guests to arrive, then she'd just put down whatever she was doing in the kitchen to check us in.

I found my room well above average in cleanliness and appointments. Small, as things tend to be in Europe and England; but adequate. Byerley House is set in a residential area, very quiet and low-key. I felt very much as if I were staying at the home of someone I'd known for a long time.

The lady of the house asked when I'd like breakfast, and honestly, I hadn't given it much thought. "Breakfast included" has gotten a bad name in the States because now that everyone offers it, it's become a lowest-bidder commodity. Read: cheap carbs and self-service.

So, the cooked-to-order eggs, ham, sausage, and potato I was handed at table reminded me of the old British custom of leaving a small amount of food on your plate so your host wouldn't think you'd been underserved. I blew that off and wolfed every morsel, then moved on to the cold cereal and more fresh fruit than I deserved to choose from. The French-press coffee left me feeling as if I were among the landed gentry. I checked out regretfully, ready to change plans, stay a while, and send for my family.

Room Tip: Ask for a cable in case the wireless reception isn't strong enough in your room. The manager off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

We found it to be so friendly,clean comfortable,excellent breakfast,tea coffee cakes to enjoy.Close to Tattersalls, the Museum and best of all The Gallops,which is a 5 min car ride.The Ntional Stud is about a 10 min drive up the road.If you are there for the horses the owners of the B/B, Bobby and Conrad will tell you everything you wish to know! Be up at the Gallops between 6-7am and you will see the most fantastic horses and some of their trainers up to around 11am.Fabulous time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viv033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Byerley House on several occasions when in Newmarket for the racing. The B&B is excellently situated for the High Street (although far enough away to avoid any late night noise), the rooms are excellent in size and cleanliness and the owners Bobbie and Conrad are friendly, helpful hosts. Breakfast is always delicious and is served promptly with a smile ... definitely the best B&B we have stayed in!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tessie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Although my husband and I only stayed at Byerley House for one night, I would highly reccommend this B & B and believe it to be great value for money. The owner was friendly and accommodating; the en suite room was clean and comfortable and the cooked breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
0.8 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
961 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Boar Inn
Golden Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Freckenham
78 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Packhorse Inn
The Packhorse Inn
#1 of 1 in Moulton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byerley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byerley House

Address: 34 Warrington Street, Newmarket CB8 8BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket
Price Range: $93 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Byerley House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at Byerley House enjoy the use of a resident’s lounge with wide screen TV and a private dining room. All bedrooms are equipped with TV’s and En Suite bathrooms. Flexible check in / out, High speed Internet wifi access is also available throughout. Room rates include full English breakfast. Local restaurant discounts, Gallop tours and stable visits arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Byerley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing