We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Review Highlights
Tours by Town Car comes with a true Haligonian. Haligonians? Yes, that is what they call themselves!

Jim Curry, owner/operator of Tours by Town Car, met us at the airport in Halifax and starting... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
NeilB47
,
Denver
Skip the Cruise ship excursion and get it done!

We met Jim outside the ship dock and made arrangements for a 4 hour tour. The Town Car (a little... read more

Reviewed November 8, 2018
LCSWSBJ
,
Yuba City, California
Read all 56 reviews
  
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
55
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
55
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour hour tour halifax area peggy's cove cruise ship nova scotia jim currie lexus stories ns highlights pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 56 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2018

We met Jim outside the ship dock and made arrangements for a 4 hour tour. The Town Car (a little dated but fun) made it special and Jim was knowledgeable about the whole area. We hit the highlights of beautiful fall leaves, Peggy's Cove, Fairview Cemetery and Titanic graves and more. We saw so much more on a private tour than ship excursion could. Also not having to wait for everyone to get on/off the bus, potty breaks, etc. Really enjoyed the whole event. Better price also!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank LCSWSBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Did a day tour during our cruise ship stop. The BEST. Jim is very knowledgeable and gave us more than our money's worth on Thanksgiving day no less. Thanks for the tour of your beautiful city.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank JohnnyJay_Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018

We came into Halifax on a cruise ship and wanted to see Halifax, Peggy's Cove and other fishing villages outside of Halifax. Jim communicated very well during the whole process of booking to meeting him and the tour. Jim is very professional and knowledgeable. He drove us in his very comfortable Lexus around to areas that are very pretty, quaint, and sometimes off the beaten path which was very nice. He took us to a very nice little lunch spot and then ended up getting some great views of Peggy's Cove before getting back to our ship. Tours By Town Car is the perfect way to see a lot in a short time and not feel rushed. We highly recommend Jim's service! Thanks Jim!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend Tours by Town Car!! You will not be disappointed. Jim was great to work with. Our tour guide, Ken gave us an incredible tour of Halifax. He had stories, pictures and certainly knew everything about the history of the lovely city. We wanted a longer tour but needed to get to our ship. Our cruise company gave us incorrect information for our Pier. Ken with a smile, unloaded and hauled our luggage and reloaded it again once the correct location was determined. Thank you!!!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank berga2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017

We were visiting Halifax via a cruise for the first time and top of the list of things to do was visit my wife's grandfather's grave, who was a victim of the Titanic Disaster. Jim was great , he took us to the Mount Olivet Cemetery and helped us find the grave. We were surprised to find that there was already a photograph and plastic flowers there,we then placed our photograph of my wife's grandfather by the grave. The photographs were definitely of the same person, so my wife will now be searching for relatives she did not realise she had. Jim immediately said he would help us find out who they were by contacting the tour guide who took them there. He also took our spare photo and promised to replace the first one when it became tatty.
Jim also took us to hear the Midday Gun, the Gardens and showed us interesting parts of Halifax. His knowledge, having lived there all his life, was excellent and we would recommend him and his tour company without hesitation. Nothing is too much trouble for him, we are so grateful for his help on the day and his continued help.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Countryboy472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews