We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for a relaxing stay”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night as a party of four in two standard double rooms. There were different staff on duty each day but all were very helpful and friendly.

The rooms were large and clean with TV, stereo, hairdryer, iron, ironing board and well stocked hospitality tray. The hotel was very quiet the first night and a bit busier on the Friday, but still very quiet in terms of any disturbance from other guests.

The selling points of this hotel are the food and fantastic traditional lounge. The bar served excellent food at a very reasonable price and there was also a restaurant, which we didn't use in the evenings as the bar food was so good. The breakfast menu was comprehensive with a variery of cooked options as well as cereals, fruits and juice. It was so filling that we did not need a lunch either day. The lounge had lovely leather chairs and a log fire which was very welcome when we were there, as the temperature outside was hovering around freezing!

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a short stay in a traditional hotel in a village setting with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewe-n-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 544 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2008

Stayed for a Saturday and Sunday night. Noted previous comments about noise so requested a quiet room when I booked - there is a whole wing on a quiet side of the hotel and we weren't bothered by noise at all.

Our standard room was comfortable, with ensuite bath and an overhead shower with plenty of pressure - furniture and decor were all in good condition.

The bar and lounge have huge hearths with log fires - very attractive in November, when we stayed - and original carved beams.

The staff are great. Nothing was too much trouble, including providing things which weren't on the menu. Pots of tea in the lounge come with home made fudge - make sure you try some. Everyone we met genuinely seemed to want to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

The Bull punches about its weight for what it charges - I've paid a lot more in other hotels and received a lot less in terms of comfort and service.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PopsyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank splumb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank etaknosnhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_Peppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
2.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,245 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range: $67 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing