We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb olde Worlde Inn”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb olde Worlde Inn”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The village of Long Melford is a lovely place to visit with lots of quaint shops along the wide high street. Melford Hall , Kenwell Hall and an ancient church are also worthy of a visit and are only short walks away. My wife and I stayed two nights on a superb Late room deal at The Bull in Long Melford , a rambling Olde world Inn on the high street. The hotel staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and our double room was of a really high standard, the bar and lounge were lovely , very comfortable and drinks/meals very well priced. The food is excellent . All in all a terrific traditional country pub/hotel in a great location that I would highly recommend after this visit and will definitely visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks very much for taking then time to review The Bull Hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay there and the team look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    170
    94
    48
    26
See reviews for
103
263
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Interesting hotel very old good location interesting interior good rooms,if space good parking, good breakfast good internet, outsite seating yes we will stay again in this hotel
Easy going and friendly people

Room Tip: We think book well ahead this is a popular place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks very much for your comments. It was lovely to hear that you had a great stay at the Bull. I will pass on your feedback to Gary and the team there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

After moving out the area in November I decided to pay a surprise visit to my family. As a former employee of The Mill hotel I opted out of staying there, with a reasonable price for 2 nights deluxe B&B The Bull couldn't of been beat. I have visited before but never stayed. With early check in we were not disappointed. Huge bed with lots of room, power shower, tea & coffee topped up everyday and fresh towels if needed. Breakfast had a vast amount to choose from and the service was impeccable. Unfortunately we didn't have time to dine but the choice & price was very reasonable. Check out was quick and the staff were absolutely lovely. Will definitely stay again :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks very much for your review of the Bull. I was really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again when you next visit your family in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at The Bull for 1 night. The hotel was very traditional and "olde" I loved it. Our room was massive for a deluxe double and we got a great deal at £65 for B&B midweek. The bar and lounge were very comfortable and drinks/meals very well priced for a hotel. The food was gorgeous, even my partner who is not a foodie really enjoyed his vegetarian option. (I would recommend the fish and chips) As stated in other reviews the staff were excellent in every department. Very friendly and helpful, they actually seemed happy in their work. Sally went out of her way to help us in looking for a pub with Sky Sports in the evening she made suggestions and even called ahead to check. Great customer service all round. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We paid an extra £10 to have a deluxe double which was well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Many thanks for posting your review of the Bull. I will pass on your comments on to the team there, in particular Sally, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Revisited Long Melford after 20 years and we were not disappointed. The Bull was a great place to stay and wish we could have stayed for longer than one night. Our room was pleasantly quirky, clean and comfortable and the breakfast had a good choice. We would definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeLRustington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I was glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bull on your visit to Long Melford. We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully sooner than in another 20 years !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Looking for a mid-week lunch we thought we would try the impressive looking Bull Hotel.
Thinking it could be a tad expensive, we were pleasantly surprised by the prices charged.
Food excellent. Speedy service. Warm and friendly members of staff. Comfortable seating.
A good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuggycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for your review of your recent visit. I was really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals and found them reasonably priced. We also have 3 themed nights during the week and offer a special 1,2 or 3 course menu during the week. I will pass your comments back to the team at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Bull is a 'Magical Place' no fires lit but that's the weather for you. Staff seem to love their jobs and really 'carry' the place..food we had was most reasonable and enjoyable.If attention to a couple of things were resolved I could not fault our stay. I repeat Staff Excellent!!

Its a 'Big Barn' but really a bit more warmth in the rooms (at night) would have been welcomed as the heating was off. Exhaust system in the bathroom was not totally effective so an additional 'Air sweetener' would have helped. Finally I never want to manually clean a WC with my hand 'Ever'..no toilet brushes in evidence due to Greene King policy..Get these small points resolved GK..and keep the bargain rates..you will have the Old place 'Rockin and Rolling'!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bull and that the team looked after you well. I will raise the lack of toilet brushes in the bathrooms when we next meet to discuss our Bedroom brand standards. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
130 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
486 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Property: The Bull
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing