We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Bull for one night, we stayed in the old hay loft room 11. The room was quiet as it was the furthest away from the wedding and party venues as well as the bar. The room was clean and had all that you would want, we had a good nights sleep as the bed was also comfortable. We walked after lunch, which we had in the bar, there was a good choice and it hit the spot. After walking we had a couple of hours to kill, so we thought lets have a couple of drinks in the bar however we were told that the 3 empty tables were reserved ( A bit odd ) so there was no room in the bar and the other bar was rented out to a wedding party, so we left and found another really nice place across the road The Crown Lovely place ( another review ) so we decided to have dinner at the Crown as well. The staff were friendly and attentive and this added to the atmosphere of the place. The breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about but did the job and there was plenty to choose from the menu. A nice place, comfortable and old building with lots of quirky features, a bit pricey at £110 for a double room, that said I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest away from the party rooms and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baronredcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the Bull Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again and do appreciate your feedback. We do hope to welcome you back to The Bull Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    163
    92
    47
    26
See reviews for
103
251
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We popped into this hotel for lunch on a visit to Long Melford.
The hotel is full of charm and at the rear has a small funtion roon reputede to date back to the eleventh century which we were llowe to view even though it was closed at the time of our visit.
We ate there and the food was of a good standard and the service friendly and welcoming and the prices about what you would expect to pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We do appreciate your comments and were glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us here at the Bull. Gary and the team hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were in the area so decided to pop into The Bull for a meal.

The restaurant was booked for a wedding so we were directed to the bar for food.

Very 'olde worlde' with low beams and nice atmosphere. Staff were polite and efficient.

It was 6pm and not too busy so we chose a table and checked the menu. I wanted a jacket potato with beans and my partner wanted steak, so he went to the bar to order - only to be told that they don't do jackets after 5pm. This was actually written on the top of the menu but the bar was quite dimly lit and I simply didn't notice it. A separate 'before 5pm' menu would've been useful as sandwiches, wraps and ciabattas were also unavailable after 5pm.

I had another look, and due to the fact it was hard to spot a tiny 'v' next to the food in dim light I opted for vegetable and cashew nut paella. This was garnished with rocket and sour cream (the lemon was missing but not an issue).

My partner's steak was rare (he asked for medium but said it was ok to eat and didn't want to send it back to the kitchen as it wasn't a real problem). He had chips (again, ok but not the best) and 1/2 a tomato with a grilled mushroom (apparently you can't have a side salad with it). This was accompanied by a tiny pot of pepper sauce.

I also had a coffee while my partner had a beer. The total cost was £30, which was actually quite expensive for what we were given.

My paella was ok but for over £8 for a bowl of rice and veg with a few strands of rocket and a spoon full of cream it was (in my opinion) a little expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent meal with us at the Bull. We do value all comments, good and bad and are sorry that the food did not live up to expectations on this occaision. Once again thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester kent
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having read the reviews for this hotel we nearly cancelled our booking. We are very glad we did not. On arrival we were welcomed and offered a choice of rooms but settled for the one earmarked for us. We had booked a standard room. This was adequate for our needs, en suite clean and in all, very good value for the money we paid. The bed was clean with fresh linen as one expects, it was also very comfortable. It has to be remembered that old historic hotels are never swish modern - don't expect it. The place has got great character even if it is looking a bit tired with worn carpets in the public areas, as another reviewer commented.
Breakfasts were excellent with a good menu for cooked food. We had 2 dinners whilst staying there and both were very enjoyable, well presented and hot. Staff attentive to our needs.We stayed mid week.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the rear courtyard. Was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochester604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bull and are glad that you did not cancel your reservation with us. Your comments have been passed on to the team there. We do genuinely appreciate all feedback received and you will be very pleased to hear that we are currently replacing the carpets downstairs in the Restaurant, Lounge and Hallway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The rooms were a good size, clean and with decent ensuite with bath. We slept well, the place is quiet (we faced the courtyard at the back), and the bed was good. Food is not so brilliant. We had a dinner in the hotel. The dining room is beautiful but the staff were somewhat amateur with young girls as waitresses who were willing but not terribly good. vacuming and clearing up is not great when there were a few of us dining and it was not terribly late. Quite a few things on the menu were not available and what there was was mediocre. Breakfast was fine however with better service. We would stay again but probably not bother eating dinner there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good. Don't bother eating dinner there unless they have a different chef
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the Bull Hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again and do appreciate your feedback. Menus are changed seasonally and all comments received are passed on to the Kitchen team. We do hope to welcome you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of us went for lunch which was. Pre booked, it was dreadful, poor service and vegetables that were served raw, and they did not care, and to add insult to injury lunch was £25 per head, no one could eat it
It might be a nice looking hotel but don,t eat there is my advice, you will pay a high price for inedible food
Who ever owns the hotel should be ashamed of themselves

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback. We do value all comments received and are sorry to hear that your visit did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had occasion to be taken out for Sunday lunch at The Bull and found myself quite disappointed.
The hotel itself on entering looks very tired and worn and could do with a facelift with paint and the carpets were rather worn too!
We went through to the bar for lunch, found our choices were all gone so opted for the Sunday roast of beef. I found the meat to be very tough, thinking at first that the knives were blunt but the same was noticed when I tried to eat the vegetables of beans, broccoli and carrots with semi-roast potatoes. I know veg should be al dente but these were just not cooked properly. As I had been invited out I didn't say anything at the time as I didn't want to upset our friends - who I might add opted for a different option on the menu. I cant see us ever going back which is a shame!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Old English Inns we value every customer comment received and we will certainly review the food quality offered on the menu and ensure that in future all the meals served are of top quality....thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,083 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Property: The Bull
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing