We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as reviews paint it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
rochester kent
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not as bad as reviews paint it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having read the reviews for this hotel we nearly cancelled our booking. We are very glad we did not. On arrival we were welcomed and offered a choice of rooms but settled for the one earmarked for us. We had booked a standard room. This was adequate for our needs, en suite clean and in all, very good value for the money we paid. The bed was clean with fresh linen as one expects, it was also very comfortable. It has to be remembered that old historic hotels are never swish modern - don't expect it. The place has got great character even if it is looking a bit tired with worn carpets in the public areas, as another reviewer commented.
Breakfasts were excellent with a good menu for cooked food. We had 2 dinners whilst staying there and both were very enjoyable, well presented and hot. Staff attentive to our needs.We stayed mid week.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the rear courtyard. Was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochester604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bull and are glad that you did not cancel your reservation with us. Your comments have been passed on to the team there. We do genuinely appreciate all feedback received and you will be very pleased to hear that we are currently replacing the carpets downstairs in the Restaurant, Lounge and Hallway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    155
    92
    46
    26
See reviews for
99
246
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The rooms were a good size, clean and with decent ensuite with bath. We slept well, the place is quiet (we faced the courtyard at the back), and the bed was good. Food is not so brilliant. We had a dinner in the hotel. The dining room is beautiful but the staff were somewhat amateur with young girls as waitresses who were willing but not terribly good. vacuming and clearing up is not great when there were a few of us dining and it was not terribly late. Quite a few things on the menu were not available and what there was was mediocre. Breakfast was fine however with better service. We would stay again but probably not bother eating dinner there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good. Don't bother eating dinner there unless they have a different chef
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the Bull Hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again and do appreciate your feedback. Menus are changed seasonally and all comments received are passed on to the Kitchen team. We do hope to welcome you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of us went for lunch which was. Pre booked, it was dreadful, poor service and vegetables that were served raw, and they did not care, and to add insult to injury lunch was £25 per head, no one could eat it
It might be a nice looking hotel but don,t eat there is my advice, you will pay a high price for inedible food
Who ever owns the hotel should be ashamed of themselves

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback. We do value all comments received and are sorry to hear that your visit did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had occasion to be taken out for Sunday lunch at The Bull and found myself quite disappointed.
The hotel itself on entering looks very tired and worn and could do with a facelift with paint and the carpets were rather worn too!
We went through to the bar for lunch, found our choices were all gone so opted for the Sunday roast of beef. I found the meat to be very tough, thinking at first that the knives were blunt but the same was noticed when I tried to eat the vegetables of beans, broccoli and carrots with semi-roast potatoes. I know veg should be al dente but these were just not cooked properly. As I had been invited out I didn't say anything at the time as I didn't want to upset our friends - who I might add opted for a different option on the menu. I cant see us ever going back which is a shame!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Old English Inns we value every customer comment received and we will certainly review the food quality offered on the menu and ensure that in future all the meals served are of top quality....thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went for lunch today 13/10/13 in this Old Bull Hotel Long Melford property could do with new carpets and some paint otherwise would be fantastic venue. We ordered Sunday lunch the knives were blunt and would not cut the tuff beef the rest of the meal was like eating uncooked vegetables . Not nice at all .
Please sort this out.

Room Tip: Be careful what you order in the restuarant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were very sorry to hear that your food was not as it should have been on this occaision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed two nights for a friend's wedding in July and had a wonderful time. Our room was huge and situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the main street in Long Melford. It was clean and all the furnishings comfortable - particularly the bed! Decent shower pressure too, although I would prefer a separate cubicle rather than an over the bath style. The hotel even provided a tall standing fan as it was in the middle of a heatwave, unfortunately this had a neligible effect but not their fault. Cooked breakfast was included in our rate, this was perfectly fine and edible, not the best I've had though. We loved the quirkiness of the layout and the little nooks and crannies, might get on some people's nerves however. As we were attending a wedding I can't really comment on the noise levels but suffice it to say we got a decent night's sleep regardless. All in all, good value for money and a central location for exploring Long Melford.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOriginalLiverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to review The Bull Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay there and the team look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Bull Hotel for a three night break and must say we thoroughly enjoyed it. We booked a superior double room and found it very roomy, clean and comfortable, the only problem we found was the room was at the front of the hotel and the outside light was directly above the windows and turned on most of the night. The breakfast were ample with plenty of choice and the staff we found were very friendly. If ever we revisit Long Melford we will defiantly chose The Bull as our base once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to the Bull again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Property: The Bull
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing