We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here and I think we enjoyed it even more than the first. Service was exceptional especially at breakfast. Only disappointment was a bar meal we had one evening which was very average. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newworldensemble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second visit to the Bull and thanks very much for the feedback. Gary and the team look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 552 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Attended my sister -in-law wedding. Set up was great - room was very decorative, at times the room was rather hot but fans were provided. Staff very polite and attentive. Service was good but not as good as it could have been - it wasn't really flowy....(childs meals took longer than expected!)

The melon for starter was great and well presented. My chicken was good along with the sauce. My fiance had the beef and this was too overcooked - very well done and was rather tasteless. Disappointing, Desserts were great with a three selection and again very well presented.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanW0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks very much for your comments regarding the recent Wedding Reception you attended at the Bull. We were disappointed to learn that your Fiance did not enjoy the Roast Beef served that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sorry to say that despite the lovely location and building this hotel was a bit of a let down, especially for the room cost.

Upon arrival I wanted to check my e-mails, although I was advised an engineer had been trying to fix a problem for some days and it was not available.

On entering our room, which was spacious and clean, it was clearly evident the furnishing was tired and dated. In fairness there was a large flat screen television, iron and ironing board.

The bathroom smelt dank and was also dated. Toiletries provided were limited to a small bar of soap and a small bottle of shampoo.

Tea and coffee was supplied in the room, although there was no sugar (my partner has a sweet tooth) and the one remaining packet of sweetener had been used and replaced in the container.

The water in the shower didn't run consistently temperature wise, albeit the sudden rush of cold water certainly was refreshing!. Also the shower curtain spent most of the time wrapping itself round the occupant that stopping water going on the floor, the wrong size or fitting I suspect.

The bed consisted of two large singles pushed together, although the topper made this almost unnoticeable. Sheets were clean and the duvet soft.

In the morning breakfast was served in the beautiful restaurant area. My partner and I both picked eggs benedict only to be told they had run out of holendaise sauce. Instead we chose the scrambled eggs and salmon, which arrived in good time but omitted the lemon slice advertised.

I would suggest this could be a lovely place to stay, but as it is needs some work to bring it up to a good standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks very much for your feedback. We do value all comments received and are sorry to hear that your visit did not live up to your expectations on this occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

One of my dearest friends held their wedding & reception here. Weather perfect, ceremony loving & great do! Never having been to venue I didn't know what to expect! But wow, service, friendliness of staff etc have made us want to go back for a romantic stay! Beautiful building too. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizziebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I was glad to hear that you had a great time with us at your friends Wedding recently. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a tale of two stories:

1) I've rated this as a two overall because of the problems we had when we first arrived and booked in for our meal. I won't go in to too much detail but suffice to say that our reservation was messed up and deal that we had booked for was apparently not available that night. The shame about it was we had called the previous day to double check that everything was still OK and even gave the persons name we had spoke to for confirmation. The manager (I think) handled the situation in a reassuring way and although he was able to give us an element of good will, was not able to honour the deal we had been told was available.

Anyway, I'm sure it could have been worse but it was just annoying that we had taken the time to try and confirm everything was all OK with our booking when it wasn't.

2) That aside, the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. It was fairly quiet but the décor and setting inside the pub was great.

All in all a great night, but I had to go for a 2 due to the initial problems.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bull. Thanks for your positive comments regarding the staff and food. Please accept our apologies for the initial problems with your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is such a shame as the level of service was good and the breakfast fine. BUT the rooms are a disaster and I doubt they have been updated in a very long time. The furniture was chipped and fabrics stained and one of our window panes was broken and had a sign taped over it saying don't open the window! This hotel/pub is clearly making its money out of weddings (there was one going on on the night we stayed) and has ceased to care about the decor and quality of the rooms. For £130.00 we could certainly have done better in the area. My advice is staff if you must but there are better places locally.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks very much for reviewing the Bull. We were glad to hear that the team looked after you on your recent visit. Maintenance and redecoration is ongoing at the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a two night stay at the Bull at Long Melford and overall it was a good experience.
We were welcomed on arrival and advised that there were two weddings at the weekend so we had been allocated a room away from potential noise.
This was appreciated but as it turned out we were still disturbed to an extent, by the sound of an outside aircon unit cutting in and out overnight. This was not horrendous but I think it is worth mentioning as it detracts from the peace and tranquillity of the surroundings.
Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean but rather dated. The shower was excellent and the towels were brilliant white and lovely and clean.

The hotel is old and full of historical interest and character and the public rooms are atmospheric in the main. On our first night dinner was fine although we were placed in a rather bare room lacking in atmosphere as the wedding party were using the main restaurant. However this was compensated for by the presence of a pianist who played in the background which was pleasant.
It is obvious that the hotel tries to accommodate those guests who are not attending the weddings, but the standards aren't quite as good.

On our second night, we chose to eat in the bar and unfortunately our meals were poor, it seemed as though the kitchen was under more pressure with the second wedding party, although we waited until we thought they had finished their meals before ordering ours. We stuck with basic choices - a chicken burger and a lasagne, so there should not have been a difficulty. The lasagne had, we thought, been microwaved to a point of being a burning hazard. The chicken 'burger' appeared to be a rather tough cooked chicken breast placed in a roll with some lettuce, rather than the menu description of a 'breadrumbed chicken fillet with salad' that I was anticipating.
I complained to the Duty manager who was very apologetic and we were not charged for our main meals.

Cooked breakfast was very good on both mornings and there was an excellent selection of cereals, fruit, pastries etc available.

All the staff at the Bull were pleasant, cheerful and friendly which is a good sign in any hotel, as bad management usually means unhappy staff, and there always seemed to be enough staff on duty to avoid delays.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Bull and we would return, though perhaps we would choose a wedding-free weekend next time.

Room Tip: Room 39 is next to the fire escape and the aircon noiseis quite loud. It's the furthest room fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks very much for your feedback. We do value all comments received and are sorry to hear that your visit did not live up to your expectations on this occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
2.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,225 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
462 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,270 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range: $85 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing