We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, with a just a little bit of room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, with a just a little bit of room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

In a general a nice place to stay. The building is a lovely old Tudor construction, the staff are friendly, and the rooms look great. Our room was timber framed with a big old fashioned 4 poster bed. On the downside we were hit by a rather pungent aroma of toilet cleaner when we entered the room, the food was just OK, and it was a bit rude of the staff to start packing up the restaurant around us before we had finished the meal (it was still early, but the restaurant was very quiet).

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timberland65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bull, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bull Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    157
    92
    46
    26
See reviews for
100
247
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster england
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Had 2 nights at the bull hotel and what a lovely place it is. Quaint olde world coaching inn with lots of character rooms superb great power shower .
Had bar meal first night very enjoyable and found all the staff to be very polite.
Fancy a break in suffolk look no further!!
Well done olde English inns

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bull, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bull Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We have just returned from our stay at The Bull in Long Melford. The Inn is full of history and character and the atmosphere is wonderful. The evening meal was fantastic and the pianist played beautifully while we ate at candle lite tables.
The room again capture the history of the inn with preseved beams and even historic features from years ago. The main lounge featured a large old fireplace with an open log fire which filled the air with a sweet log sent. The overall experience was faultless and we would reccomend The Bull Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridge_UKJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bull, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bull Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Lovely old inn, in a sleepy village, no doubt lovely in Summertime.

Bar busy both nights we stayed and breakfast in the lovely dining room was very plentiful.
Had an Old English Inn value break so it turned out to be excellent value for money.

Just one thing. .....
Both fires need their chimenys sweeping as the fumes do tend to make yours eyes water, hopefully the hotel will sort this out in the Spring.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stag77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Just returned from another break at this lovely hotel. The hotel is a wonderful haven of cosy but professional comfort. Superbly managed by Gary with a fabulous team at reception, in the restaurant in the bar and a very efficient housekeeping team.(Thankyou Sue for our lovely room and the history of it, we shall request this next time!) The breakfast is the best we have had anywhere and the restaurant is charming. The beds are the most comfy. Nothing is too much trouble. Wish I was there now!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kentkiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We spent 3 nights here and ate in the bar each evening. The food was inventive and well presented. The service was pleasant and efficient. Our room was comfortable with a refurbished bathroom which sported a large bath and plenty of hot water. We had no difficulty parking our modest vehicle and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walton17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

After enjoying the pub for drinks, with friends/family for a few years, with the bar staff being fantastic, I felt safe booking 2 rooms for new years eve. £120.00 ok if the rooms reflect the pub/dining areas.

After waiting 5-10 minutes to be seen at reception, a lady with NO sence of humour came to give us our keys 37/39 we took 37, a hand print on the wall awaited us looking like it had been made by either a blood/sick soaked hand. a tile missing in the shower, a rusty hole in the bath that was made from the fallen tile some time ago, altro flooring coming away from wall, and half pack of biscuits under the chair in the bedroom.

The maintenance man left and has not been replaced by all accounts, this room needs updating badly.

When telling the different receptionist on the Saturday morning of our finds she grunted a eww, NO SORRY NO EYE CONTACT, not good, im in business and see customer satisfaction as a priority.

Plus I had to park my Maserati up the road as guests do not have any priority in the car park, so I was a tad worried about that on a new years eve.

Pub great Hotel Very poor

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig_t_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Property: The Bull
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing