We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Melford Hall

Melford Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We are NT members so - of course - get in free! The staff were excellent, the house interesting, the gardens lovely and my companion said "the best cup of tea ever" [They had actually made it strong enough!]

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    106
    35
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome from an interesting property”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having not visited this property since just after it passed to the National Trust in the 1970`s,our visit this time was a lovely surprise.
We were given an introductory talk on the lawn & then invited to explore the house,which was full of interest, particularly the Beatrix Potter connection ,as she was a cousin of the one time owners & used to visit frequently together with the visit of Queen Elizabeth 1st which is not forgotten.
The room guides were all enthusiastic & very knowledgeable about the rooms,which were well furnished despite the fire there during the second world war,when the house was partially occupied by the army.A lot of valuable pieces were destroyed at that time.
There are 12 rooms to look around & then an extensive garden to explore with the banqueting house.
There is a very small tearoom,but on a fine day it extends into the garden with tables ,chairs & umbrellas provided.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hughj191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant afternoon”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We love historical houses and gardens and the exterior of Melford Hall is wonderful. The interior is interesting with some fabulous pieces such as the boudoir chandelier and the winter scene painting in one of the downstairs rooms. Overall not as grand as we expected but I liked the family photos dotted around. The guides were especially friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a warm bur showery day. As members of the trust, we just showed our membership card, but there were no prices on display for non-members.
Fascinating house. Lovely rooms and very knowledgable staff. Only one person didn't greet us when we went into a room and when she did speak it was almost reluctantly!
However, well worth a visit, lovely gardens etc. tea-room a bit small, but we managed to get a seat in the annex room close by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beccles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not up to usual National Trust standard”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having been to most of the National Trust properties in East Anglia and Cornwall this Summer, we looked forward to visiting Melford Hall. However, the lady under a 'reception' canopy rather set the tone. There were no admission prices on display, for non-members anyway, and as we walked towards the Hall, we met a group of people who had walked straight past the 'canopy', and having been refused admission, had to walk all the way back to the gate to pay, and receive the lapel stickers!
Apart from the entrance hallway, the rooms were rather plain, lacking any feeling whatsoever, with little or artefacts.
And to the cloakrooms and tea room. Poor cloakroom facilities, unable to cope with what was only a small amount visitors. And the tea room was more like a school canteen, although the food and drink was very nice.
It just lacked everything that we have come to expect from the National Trust, and they must try to improve the experience of the Hall i feel.
Oh, and the second-hand books, which is always an interesting part of any visit, amounted to nine books on a table, under another canopy, outside by the garden!!
So we went off to visit a proper house at Ickworth, which was top class in every way.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melford Hall also viewed

Long Melford, Babergh District
Long Melford, Babergh District
 
Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds
Lavenham, Babergh District
 

Been to Melford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing