We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WEEKEND” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Black Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Black Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Long Melford CO10 9DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
2 reviews
“GREAT WEEKEND”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just returned for the Black Lion we have had GREAT service from ALL the staff, from the first welcome from Micheal to when we left. good food (including the mushrooms ) big thank you we will see you again. Bob & Elizabeth Brewer

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLizEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lastingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

If you want to wait an hour for a breakfast that has been baked dry then this is the place for you. Upper rooms unbearably hot and stuffy and fan does not work. Certainly not worth the money, distinctly moderate!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was given a voucher for afternoon tea for two at the Black Lion in Long Melford. Oh dear, very poor. The sandwiches were ok but not very well presented. The scones looked liked 'value' super market scones. The tiny piece of chocolate brownie was not too fresh and the piece of cherry tart looked as though it had been on the plate for some time. Neither of us fancied it so don't know how it tasted. The clotted cream was very good. Very poor value for money. Don't think I will go again!!

Not only disappointing for us but also for the person who gave us the gift who assumed it would be in the setting as shown on the web site.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simpson008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for one night in the Chablis room, which has an inter-connecting room with bunk beds - ideal for families. As we only booked the day before, the hotel allowed one of our children to stay for free (the cost is usually a rather steep £37 per child). The rooms were both pretty small - the bunk bed room only has room for the bed. But this didn't matter too much for a one night stay.

Positives: the very friendly welcome on arrival, huge fluffy white towels, comfortable bed. En suite bathroom is a good size. The breakfast was generally excellent - large tasty portion of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, good Full English, fantastic (homemade I think) granola, good quality fruit juice, leaf tea and cafetiere coffee. Shame the toast was from a standard cheap sliced loaf. Easy to park outside. Children enjoyed a small toy box in the reception area and the rocking horses around the hotel which staff said they were welcome to ride on!

Less good: we found a beer can under the bunk bed (the children were asking what the smell was!) and someone else's hairbrush under our bed. The rooms seem a little bit tired and in a need of a renovation. For example, the paint on the bunk bed was wearing off, the carpets are worn, the wallpaper was scuffed quite a bit, the paint on the bath panel was chipping off. For the price, I would have expected better. The shower was very weak, and fixed, so that if you are taller than about 5'9" you wouldn't be able to fit your head under it without stooping. If this place is renovated soon (and the toast is made of nicer bread) then it could be 5*.

Room Tip: Chablis is good if you have children as there is an inter-connecting room with a bunk bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Teacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A warm welcome on arrival and we were shown to our room - 10, Volnay. This was small but smart, comfortable and clean with a good sized bathroom.

At first it appeared there was no hot water for a bath but then we realised the taps were mis-labelled.

We were visiting friends so did not have Dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was very good and well presented by friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBedfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Everything about our stay was perfect. On arrival we were offered a free room upgrade which we accepted. The room was excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. The staff were always very helpful. The surrounding area of Long Melford is charming and there are lots of things to do. We will definitely return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in May and nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic staff - special mention for Nikki, Kaya and Fiona. We stayed in Chablis and it was gorgeous. The bar is lovely, and the food was fabulous especially on our first night. (Husband says to say that food on the 3rd night was a bit disappointing). Breakfast kept us going all the way to the evening.
The room was a little hot on the first (sunny) day - suspect it would be divinely warm in the winter.

Room Tip: Chablis was a bit too hot on a sunny day - maybe check with reception for a cooler room in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.6 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Long Melford CO10 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Long Melford
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Long Melford
Black Lion Hotel Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing