We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the service!”

Tiffin's Tea Emporium
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Long Melford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tiffins Tea Emporium is under new management and with free wifi welcomes you to come and relax and enjoy our re-designed tea room with a choice of breakfast, light lunches and a variety of tea and not forgetting our new range of fabulous home made cakes. We have also introduced freshly ground Colombian arabica coffee beans for the non tea lovers along with our Jaccs flavoured coffee choices and honeycomb hot chocolate. We pride ourselves with our attentive service and relaxed atmosphere and would very much like for you to stop by and say hello and try our famous afternoon tea.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visited as a party of four for afternoon tea. Started off very good as quite busy but timing was such that a table had just finished so we were lucky. Lovely choice of cakes.

Our order was placed but we were sat for a long time before anything appeared. Eventually tea was brought to the table but still no cake. A word to a waitress and the 2 portions of cake and 2 cream teas arrived BUT one without cream and apology made and said would bring it shortly. Possibly this had been the reason for the delay? The cream was eventually brought but the portions for 2 large scones very small. The cakes were delicious and a decent slice but just as well as £3 each.

We were probably unfortunate at the end of a busy afternoon and would return.

Gluten free cakes available too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fussyfemaleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffinsteaemporium, Owner at Tiffin's Tea Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Your visit was during an extremely busy Easter weekend and we accept that service during this period was a little slower than our usual prompt delivery due to the volume of customers.

We did have an issue with the cream which was rectified as quickly as possible, I am only sorry that this was not communicated sufficiently to you.

I am pleased that you have said that you would return to us, possibly on a quieter day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Tiffin's Tea Emporium
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 215 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

the coffee is excellent - they use Nespresso for their espresso -, their cakes are delicious and their home made light lunches are not only really tasty but reasonably priced as well ! Everything is home made and their tiffin is just fantastic. Lovely chunky bits of biscuit, raisins and scrummy chocolate! Well worth a visit - and the staff are lovely just to add to the experience. We call in for coffee / lunch or tea as we wander through Melford and it's great every time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank annadoriag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffinsteaemporium, Owner at Tiffin's Tea Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and for redressing the balance on our coffee and Tiffin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We called in for a coffee late on a Sunday afternoon. The tea room is set in a lovely location and is very quaint. The staff were friendly and service was quick. Unfortunately the coffees were very weak, tasting suspiciously like powdered coffee and certainly not what you would expect at £3.50 for 2 coffees. Very disappointing. There was a nice selection of cakes on offer but we just had coffees to warm us up before we got back on our motorbikes. Whilst they certainly warmed us up, they were too weak to taste. Shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bonniebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffinsteaemporium, Owner at Tiffin's Tea Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a riview, if only you had spoken to us at the time we could have rectified the situation for you.

Our filter coffee, which is what you ordered, is a high quality blend from Paddy and Scotts, a Suffolk based highly reputable company. We have many regular customers who love this coffee, I am sorry it was not to your taste. It is certainly not powdered coffee.

We also serve a richer stonger Americano which if you are looking for a more robust blend is what we would recommend.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the friendly staff, speed of service, ambience and the nice selection of cakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recently visited Tiffins Tea Emporium with my husband on a lazy Sunday afternoon. We ordered afternoon tea which is served on a three tier plate of delicious sandwiches, huge scone with jam and cream and a delightful homemade cake washed down with a pot of tea. The staff are friendly and welcoming and we will most certainly be making a return visit soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ashburt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Huge scones, good choice of teas, yummy. Friendly service, would recommend and visit again when in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PurpleWorldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiffin's Tea Emporium also viewed

Long Melford, Babergh District
Long Melford, Babergh District
 
Long Melford, Babergh District
Long Melford, Babergh District
 
Long Melford, Babergh District
 

Been to Tiffin's Tea Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing