We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resturant in the area”

Lavenham Great House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Great House offers its customers an individual twist on classical French cooking in addition to traditional 'Haute cuisine'. A charming and comfortable boutique hotel as well as a restaurant, it is highly acclaimed and has won many accolades, including Best Restaurant with Rooms (The Good Hotel Guide), on of Britain's Top 100 Restaurants (The Sunday Times & Hardens Guide) and East of England Restaurant of the Year (Which? Good Food Guide). Three AA rosettes.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best resturant in the area”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for fine dinning in Suffolk this is one not to be overlooked. Service is consistently good as is the service. It's not cheap but certainly not over priced for what you get. whenever there is a special occasion this is my prefered choice. Infact its the only choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    68
    32
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hugely Disappointing”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went to this highly rated restaurant for my wife's birthday. Level of pretensiousness was staggering. Appreciate that the restaurant is intended to be authentic French but why cant they employ waiting staff that have better rudimentary English? One of our party asked for an Archers and Lemonade as aperitif but the waitress had no idea what Archers was or what Schnapps was so we changed to Martini and Lemonade - what arrived was a glass of Martini and a glass of Lemonade separately, no ice no lemon. Food was overall good but service got slower and slower through the evening and we waited at least 30 minutes to receive the final bill. Wont be going back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 102Taff88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent food slightly over bearing service.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went here for a big birthday the other day and the food did live up to the many recommendations I have had from friends. The winelist was varied and had some decent value wines including inexpensive white burgundy so I was happy. On the other hand there were too many waiters standing around the table and it did feel slightly overbearing. The men's bathroom is little more than a cupboard under the stairs but all in all a very pleasant restaurant where we would return once a year or so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eeryninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“michelin starred food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

loved our meal at the great house restaurant , exquisite food , service and location , a must if you visiting lavenham

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank richardhearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quite Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have just returned from a truly superb lunch at The Great House! Have been visiting the restaurant for a number of years but this was the first time I've had lunch in the courtyard - quite simply perfect!
The food was absolutely delicious - just wished I had enough room for what looked like the most amazing pecan pie! The setting was perfect on a summer afternoon with a chilled glass of champagne - can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavenham Great House Restaurant also viewed

 
Lavenham, Babergh District
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Lavenham Great House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing