We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Simply Perfect!”

Lavenham Great House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Great House offers its customers an individual twist on classical French cooking in addition to traditional 'Haute cuisine'. A charming and comfortable boutique hotel as well as a restaurant, it is highly acclaimed and has won many accolades, including Best Restaurant with Rooms (The Good Hotel Guide), on of Britain's Top 100 Restaurants (The Sunday Times & Hardens Guide) and East of England Restaurant of the Year (Which? Good Food Guide). Three AA rosettes.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quite Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have just returned from a truly superb lunch at The Great House! Have been visiting the restaurant for a number of years but this was the first time I've had lunch in the courtyard - quite simply perfect!
The food was absolutely delicious - just wished I had enough room for what looked like the most amazing pecan pie! The setting was perfect on a summer afternoon with a chilled glass of champagne - can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    71
    32
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Another perfect visit”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I guess you could say we are lucky this is our closest restaurant it's 3 minutes walk and there aren't many restaurants around of this quality. The Great House offers consistent levels of high quality food and service, the food is perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. There is an extensive wine list with a wide spread of price they are all well selected so if you keep the cost down on the wine I don't think you will be disappointed. Best value is a weekday lunch but that's not always the right time if you are celebrating an event, my visit was to celebrate my 60th. We visited as a family and all enjoyed the quality and the ambiance.

Just look at the rest of the reviews here they can't be wrong and indeed they aren't its an excellent resturant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mersea, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Great House, Lavenham, Suffolk”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We travelled from West Mersea to The Great House to meet up with friends, what a fantastic evening the food was lovely, and the staff really helpful. We will be back !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hundon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having previously been disappointed by the Angel across the road, we thought we'd give the Great House a try. The contrast could not have been greater.

The Great House service team were friendly but professional. The food was all very good and served well and on a timely basis. The wine list was not massive but had a good range at reasonable prices.

We'll definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for lunch.. and Dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Service, food, atmosphere... all great! An excellent place for lunch. Good quality ingredients, well prepared and served with French style. A meal here is always a pleasure. Not just for special occasions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavenham Great House Restaurant also viewed

 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Lavenham, Babergh District
 

Been to Lavenham Great House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing