We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restaurant that always exceeds expectations.”

Lavenham Great House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $64
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Great House offers its customers an individual twist on classical French cooking in addition to traditional 'Haute cuisine'. A charming and comfortable boutique hotel as well as a restaurant, it is highly acclaimed and has won many accolades, including Best Restaurant with Rooms (The Good Hotel Guide), on of Britain's Top 100 Restaurants (The Sunday Times & Hardens Guide) and East of England Restaurant of the Year (Which? Good Food Guide). Three AA rosettes.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A restaurant that always exceeds expectations.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Great House is, by some margin, the best restaurant in Suffolk, in our opinion. We have been visiting this establishment since 1990 and amazingly it just keeps getting better. The quality and variety of dishes is outstanding and the standard of service better than many "swanky" and very expensive, London restaurants.
If only there was somewhere to have a pre-dinner drink before being shown to your table, it would be perfect!

David F.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    67
    32
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real french restaurant in Suffolk”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Great House is a restaurant with rooms. I cannot comment on the rooms having never experienced the, but we keep coming back to the restaurant for special occasions. Not only is the food excellent, but the service is impeccable. I recently asked if they would provide something for my wife that was not on the menu. No problem at all and she thought it marvelous! That is real service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb worth the drive!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Amazing, full on fabulous, well worth the trip for a special meal. A brilliant overall experience food was wonderful top quality and service was superb very attentive staff, beautiful surroundings was a really special treat. Wish I could afford to go more often

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yummysuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I took my Fiancee and her mother for lunch on 27th December 2012.
The service from the point of entry to the point of departure was excellent.
To compliment the service was the food and wine. All exquisite.
Albeit we ate off a fixed price lunch menu the choice was still immense and the quality was superb.
The wine menu is extensive and the prices suit all.
The creme brulee is out of this world and highly recommended but then so is the cheese board.
To summarise, fantastic food, wine and service for a white linen cloth restaurant located in a beautiful historic village.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K-Man62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good - but surprisingly nouvelle.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have not visited this restaurant for several years but decided to take the family there for a pre-Christmas lunch.The restaurant is in a lovely building in the fantastically well preserved Suffolk village of Lavenham.
My starter was foie gras terrine which was superb.Others had rabbit roulade,mushroom cassolette and Isle of Skye scallop - all excellent dishes.Three of us had lamb for main.The food was excellent but there was one Chantenay carrot,one very small leek portion and a single baby turnip per plate with a small amount of mash and later a celeriac mash brought to the table.The lamb consisted of two rather small slivers of meat.This was disappointing.One of us had pork belly which again consisted of a small portion of meat.The desserts were excellent one of us having an espresso pannacotta and the other a chocolate brownie.I had a cheese board which was satisfactory but by no means exceptional.The food was excellent as was the table service.However we did wait about an hour before our starters arrived as our orders were not taken immediately.Overall this was a very good meal but the main courses although excellent food were simply too small - one small carrot and an equally small leek are simply not adequate.One of us had a glass of cabernet sauvignon and we had two bottles of mineral water.The cafetiere coffee was satisfactory and the petits four were very good.The bill for 4 of us (one of whom did not have dessert) was £162 without service charge.I do not recall there being a tendency to nouvelle sized main courses on my last visit and I was somewhat disappointed with this development.Otherwise it was an enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LMcL04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavenham Great House Restaurant also viewed

 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Lavenham, Babergh District
 
Lavenham, Babergh District
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Lavenham Great House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing