We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Lavenham Priory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lavenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavenham Priory
Ranked #2 of 8 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I planned this as a special treat for my family during our recent vist to the UK. The place has a wonderful sense of history and has been lovingly restored. Tim and Gilli are very welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    14
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
93
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

About as good as it gets, lovely historic rooms to sleep in with a modern bathroom which was spotless. Able to sit in the great hall in the evening by a wood fire with a drink in hand, breakfast was in another historic room and what a breakfast it was.
It`s easy to forget this is a family house which made the experience even better.
Best place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Clearly the owners have expended spent much time, love and money in restoring this place, for which we as the public have to be grateful for. However, throughout out stay we felt more like a necessary evil than welcome guests. Considering the fact that as paying customers we must be funding the life style of the owners I would have expected at least a minimum of hospitality. Instead we found ourselves whispering most of the time we were there, and when it came to checking out on Sunday morning, which was to take place at the very unfriendly time of ten thirty in the morning, we had a knock on the door from the owner at ten to eleven reminding us, just in case we had forgotten. To be Lord and Lady of the manor takes more than just owning a big house. Noblesse oblige.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and i stayed one night last week and i would like to have stayed longer.
Friendly hosts and a wonderful building.A welcoming open fire on a damp evening nad drinks available if we wanted.
|Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My Partner booked the Priory Suite as an Anniversary present with dinner across the road in The Swan. We were made to feel very welcome, and the Priory is quite magnificent. For such an old building I was very pleasantly surprised at how warm and cosy it was throughout. The current owners have restored this period house with such attention to detail, but with the comfort of the modern era. I loved it. Our suite had a huge bathroom with cast iron freestanding bath, a separate lounge downstairs and the most comfortable enormous 4 poster bed. Dinner at The Swan was superb and highly recommended. Dress smart. Breakfast the following morning was a struggle to find room for after all we had eaten the night before, but you manage somehow!! First class and worth the extra pounds for something really special. For those with an historical interest this building will not let you down.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I can't comment on the hotel itself but my experience might be of interest.

I booked the hotel but then tried to cancel it 2 weeks before going and was told that I would have to pay 60% of the cost if I did not go. I said under the circumstances I would honour the booking. If, however, they could resell the booking they would let me know. They resold the booking but failed to inform me and if I had not rung them on the morning of the visit to tell them when I would arrive I would have got there to find there was no room. Disappointing service. I can't speak for the place itself as I never got there.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We decided on a short break of 3 nights somewhere in East Anglia. This place popped up and we went for it. It was perfect. Our only problem was we were too warm at night! But easy to solve; we opened the windows!
The village itself is well worth seeing and the places to eat at are fantastic. It was not cheap to eat or stay but worth every penny and we would deffinitely stay at Lavenham Priory again.
We liked the honesty approach - where your rooms are not locked and you can help yourself to a drink and write down what you have had. A refreshing change in this day and age; we only wish it could happen more often.
We only had to ask and the owners were more than helpful, they were about but not in your face so you could relax and not feel that you were intruding in their beautiful home.
Enjoy a few days here - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I think you would like any of them - the ones we were able to see looked fantastic too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnie-mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
508 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
419 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavenham Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavenham Priory

Property: Lavenham Priory
Address: Lavenham Priory Water Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering accommodation at an affordable price. Graded 5 Stars with Gold Award. Winner of the AA's guest accommodation of the year award and twice winner of The Which Hotel's Beautiful B&B. Lavenham Priory a "Grade 1 listed" medieval house offers unique and unforgettable experience. The Priory Suite (sleeps 2) - an intimate small self catering cottage ideal for couples, comprising on the ground floor a spacious sitting room with small dining area. A magnificent hand carved oak spiral staircase leads up to the bed chamber and an opulent en-suite bathroom. The bed chamber features a beautiful 4 poster bed, antique furniture, subtle lighting, TV and free Wifi. (Please note - the Priory Suite has basic catering facilities including kitchen sink and microwave, but no cooker) The Dairy Wing - (sleeps up to 6) - ideal for families or large groups, this property is perfect for weekend or longer stays. First floor accommodation comprises: 3 double bedrooms (one with en suite bathroom) and a separate family bathroom - all offering maximum flexibility for up to 2 families or large groups. Downstairs the real feature of the house is a beautiful beamed sitting / dining room with wood burning stove and patio doors leading out to an enclosed private patio garden. The house has a brand new fully equipped kitchen and includes a spacious entrance hall and bathroom. An abundance of space and high quality fittings and furnishings throughout the property create a special experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavenham Priory Hotel Lavenham
Lavenham Priory Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing