We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch your step!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweetmeats Tea Rooms

Sweetmeats Tea Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Lavenham
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: Tea Rooms
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Watch your step!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went to Sweetmeats in Lavenham for morning tea today. It's a quaint and quirky little place with a tiny [only five tables for four] tearoom above an even smaller shop!

Great care should be taken on the very steep staircase.

The emphasis appears to be on gluten free bakery products which are home made on the premises.

The fruit scones and the toasted teacakes were both served with nice butter, jam and clotted cream. The consistency of the scone and teacakes were somewhat unusual [perhaps a by-product of the gluten free recipe] but they were rather tasty.

Decent tea.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDoug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our family visited Lavenham on a whim one Saturday. I quickly looked at Tripadvisor to check out suggestions for a place to eat and found Sweetmeats recommended so that is where we went. We were not at all disappointed. It was a tiny little tea room but so quaint and the service and food were excellent. We had the cheese scones, a sandwich and tea. Everything was delicious.

We came back later in the afternoon for some ice cream. Also delicious. The owners were very friendly and gracious and everything we ate there was quite nice.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MAAM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I visited Sweetmeats based on the excellent reviews and was at first sceptical. However the toasted tea cake was excellent. well presented with homemade jam and clotted cream. Nice cup of tea too.

It is a bit out of the way so worth finding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Couldn't agree more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were there the same evening as "FiFi", couldn't agree more! Our second visit for the dining experience and enjoyed everything about it. Vegetarians and gluten-free amply catered for. Reservation essential, take your own wine if you want more than the comlimentary glass supplied.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another corker of an evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are able to try this little cafe tucked away above their own ye olde sweet shop (could it get any better) do. Whether it is for lunch or to join them on one of their monthly evening meals you will not be disappointed - or leave hungry! Paul, Hannah and their children have imbued this little place with their own style, soul and charm and it is a unique experience to be hosted by them. We are already looking forward to retuning - the shame is that we have told so many people we might no get in!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FiFiLabonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetmeats Tea Rooms also viewed

Lavenham, Babergh District
 
Lavenham, Babergh District
Lavenham, Babergh District
 
Lavenham, Babergh District
Lavenham, Babergh District
 

Been to Sweetmeats Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing