We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Suffolk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We certainly made the right decision when we decided to stay at The Swan Hotel, Lavenham for our 3 night mid-week break in Suffolk. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. Our room exceeded our expectations, in a quiet part of the hotel offering all facilities one would expect from a hotel of this calibre. Our breakfasts were excellent offering a wide choice of cold and cooked dishes. The evening menu catered for most tastes, with a extensive wine list, and, in particular for us, an offering of 4 real ales. The atmosphere throughout our stay was warm and welcoming in a professionally run establishment with relaxation being the key - afternoon tea is one of the highlights on offer. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent midweek break at the Swan. I am very pleased to read that our reception team were friendly and efficient and that your room exceeded your expectations. We do hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards


Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel. We were upgraded to a suit which was lovely if very dark. Lots of beams and very olde worlde. Good bathroom and very comfortable bed. It was one of those hotel rooms where we never did master the light switches!
We had dinner in the main restaurant on both evening. The staff were lovely and very attentive. Unfortunately,my lamb was lukewarm on the first night and my omelette(from the brasserie menu) on the second night was very overlooked. Both these problems were put right quickly and efficiently. My husband fared much better on both nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Barbara

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoy your visits to the Swan at Lavenham and welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went to The Swan for our wedding anniversary,A fantastic old worldly hotel with loads of character but with all the modern comforts you need.We had a fantastic meal in the main restaurant the food was excellent as was the service. Lavenham is a great place to visit and the swan a great hotel to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 lovely room but a few stairs to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Jon

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Swan at Lavenham for your wedding anniversary. I am so pleased to read that you had a good stay and enjoyed your meal with us.

Kind regards

Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Swan is a delightful hotel celebrating the best of British in so many ways. The fabric of the hotel is like a medieval version of "Grand Designs" positively oozing uneven timber in every direction and yet the bedrooms, restaurants and lounges bring modern comforts such as free wi-fi and sleek furnishing.

The included breakfast is very very good and to be served at the tables an increasingly rare delight. The staff are courteous and attentive without being excessively so. We had an evening meal at the brasserie which is much less formal than the dining room and yet the food was very good. The clientelle at the hotel tend to be older but all ages would enjoy staying here except those seeking raucous nightlife.

Lavenham is a truly beautiful town. Do get the audio guides from the Pharmacy to learn about the history of the place.

The spa is being developed and the temporary car park is off Hall Road the road to the left beyond the hotel if approaching from the south.

Room Tip: Unless you're fixated on sleeping in a four poster bed go for the superior rooms which are spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoncalling_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you found The Swan delightful and that our staff were courteous and attentive. We are very pleased to have made your stay a pleasant one.

Thank you also for mentioning the audio guides which are available from Lavenham Pharmacy as a great way to learn about the history of our beautiful town.

Kind Regards

Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was taken to The Swan for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday and wow what a beautiful place it is as well as being so welcoming and friendly.

We had a room at the front of the hotel that had the most amazing fire place, a huge bed that was most comfortable and a really lovely en suite shower room which suited us perfectly.

Bottled water was freely available in the rooms and a really lovely touch was that they had left a birthday card for me!

The restaurant in the hotel was a real feature of the weekend. Situated in the most stunning room with high beams and decorated beautifully. This is where we dined in the evening for one of our two night stays and where breakfast was also served.

I have a very severe nut allergy and was so so impressed with the way that they dealt with this at dinner. My partner had been asked when booking of any special conditions that they needed to be aware of. Not only was this picked up when in the bar before dinner when being served our aperitifs free from any nut traces but all the time during the meal it was picked up and was either reassured or told that it had been especially made for me. I could not have wanted more and have never felt so reassured and comfortable with my condition when dining out.

The morning breakfasts were just lovely with a vast breakfast menu and a brilliant waitress who we had a laugh with both mornings and again the allergy was remembered without me saying a word and handled very well again.

We had a look around the local town which was beautiful and also ventured out a little way thanks to the lovely receptionist who printed off google maps for us and recommended places of interest. She too was such a lovely friendly lady who we were again able to have a laugh and joke with.

So, the staff were lovely and could not do more to help you if they tried. the restaurant was lovely and the food was out of this world. The room was really lovely and very comfortable indeed. The bar was well stocked and had both of our favourite spirits which are rarely available which was a huge plus, except for the headaches in the morning!

The only minus point that I can possibly think of was that we opted to go to a local Indian restaurant on one of the nights (see my other review) when we should have stayed and enjoyed everything of what we had the previous evening.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel which was no problem at all. No noise whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Kellie

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Swan. I'm very pleased to read that our staff were helpful and that you had a comfortable stay and that our food was 'out of this world' whilst staying with us.

Kind Regards


Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of the village.we had lovely views over the village square from our large bedroom.The staff at the swan are friendly ,helpful and informative.All meals were of a very high standard.We really enjoyed our stay and would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the square and guild hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebellgirl_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Swan. I am very pleased to read that our staff were helpful and informative and that you enjoyed you meals with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards


Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Swan Hotel in Lavenham for 3 nights in April. On making the reservation we received e-mail confirmation which had a note to say there was building work at the back of the hotel, but we wouldn't be affected, this concerned me as I hadn't seen anything about building work on the hotel website, so I contacted the hotel and we were offered a room at the front of the hotel away from the building work, which was very thoughtful. Unfortunately, this was probably a mistake as the room we stayed in was incredibly noisy from the high street traffic, even at night. On top of which on the second night there was someone wheel spinning and revving their car engine outside the hotel in the early hours of the morning, and on the third night the property opposite the hotel, which someone rents, was playing loud music until 3am!! I contacted reception to complain about the music and was told there was nothing they could do. A couple of other incidents didn't help our stay; we were checked into the wrong room and then had to pack up and move to the room next-door and also had a bathroom sink which had a leak and flooded the floor. On checking out of the hotel the Front of House Manager did come to apologise about the noise from the music, cars and leaking sink and explained they were going to talk to the local landlord about the incidents, from their reaction I'm not sure this was the first time they had had issues. Hopefully the hotel management will resolve the noise issue so that future guests don't have a similar experience, which you really don't expect in a place like Lavenham!

I can't just write a grumbling post, there were positives about our stay; the breakfasts were fantastic with a great range of original choices. We dined in the Brasserie a couple times, which also had delicious food. Through the different incidents the staff were always polite and helpful. Lavenham and the surrounding areas are lovely and there are lots of places of interest to visit. Sadly we came away unrested and looking forward to getting home for a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Don't take a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorwichTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,032 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,223 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
732 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: $160 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing