We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in all departments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Bushey, Hertfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First class in all departments”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We couldn't fault this hotel. There was some building work going on and we were informed when we made our booking. In the vent, it had no impact on our visit but it was kind of the staff to let us know. The welcome was friendly and efficient; car parking arrangements were simple and secure; the room was ultra comfortable; our meal in the Brasserie and our breakfast were top notch. As a measure of how much we enjoyed our stay - we booked for Christmas before we left!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pplusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    258
    85
    20
    16
See reviews for
156
774
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wow, we totally loved this hotel and are already looking for excuses to visit again. Our room was beautiful, in keeping with the style of the hotel yet still all the luxuries you would expect of a newer hotel. The toiletries were AMAZING. The food was wonderful and the staff very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A very spontaneous decision to go away for a couple of days but as we had stayed several times before at The Swan, there was no hesitation in booking what was a good B and B deal and a chance to go and visit the National Trust sites within easy reach of the hotel.
As always, a friendly greeting, bags taken to the room which had old painted images and patterns on the plaster between the wooden beams. Excellent bonnes bouches before dinner, knowledgeable sommelier, and enough good thoughtful choices on the menu which meant that the second night's meal was as good as the first night.

Breakfast was as one should expect - good choice of cold or cooked plates. My own personal preference is for strong coffee which I got on the second morning.
There is work going on to build a spa so this is occupying what used to be the car park. However, we had no problem parking in the road outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our lunch was very disappointing, the main course was served on cold plates,the vegetables appeared to have been pre-cooked and were cold and wrinkled on arriving at the table, the fondant potato was probably reheated and was dry and inedible, the only saving grace on the plate was the chicken breast which was moist quite tasty, our dessert was poached pear in a pastry case, unfortunatly while the pear was delicious the pastry was undercooked and soggy.
On asking to have our coffee in the lounge, we were told that we could not, since this was reserved for afternoon tea guests.Having driven for over one hour to have a special lunch with friends, the whole experience was very poor, we will certainly not be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Swan on our wedding night and stayed in a suite. The suite is beautiful! We had a living room, bathroom and separate bedroom which were all beautifully decorated! The Hotel is very quaint with beams. Tall people need to mind their heads as some of the hallways have extremely low ceilings!
The bathroom had a good shower and nice big towels! The bed was huge and very comfy! The view from our room was building work as they are building a spa, but there was no noise and it didn't have a negative impact on our stay with them.
Breakfast was lovely, with a choice of cooked dishes and everything served to the table!
Our only issue was we arrived late and stood outside for about 15 minutes waiting for them to answer door, in the end a guest in the bar spotted us and let us in.
We live locally so would have no need to stay here again but would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyP186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

sorry for taking so long to post this - we visited a year ago but it was great. we literally booked hours before travellinle for a 2 night stay and managed to grab the last room avaiable. We were told that the room was the least desirable in the hotel and was at the back. Well it was just fine, much better than we were led to believe - exceeding expectations is always a good start! Our deal included a 'full english' on bith days plus an evening meal - we were more than happy to use the restaurant again on the second night as it was reall good.

Great staff, everything absolutely spot on, well done!!

Lavenham is a wonderful jewel, well worth a visit. The only thing that could improve it would be to get rid of all the parking in the main square - but there's nowhere else to park so hey ho.

thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Well, i really have no idea where to start. Myself and my husband have now stayed at the Swan a total of 4 times in the past 5 months and each time we visit, we just love it more and more.

Every time we have been, we receive a friendly and warm welcome, and only once i've had to introduce myself by name, as they remembered us on all other return visits.

We decided to visit the Swan last year as a potential venue for our wedding, and as soon as we entered the front door (on a cold October night) we were struck by the warmth and cosy feeling of the place. The staff were superb, and showed us to our room and were very keen to check we were more than satisfied with the room. We had dinner there that night too, and the food deserves its very own review in the Restaurant section, as that too was simply divine.

Our beds have always been incredibly comfortable, the reception warm and staff always go out of their way to ensure you feel welcome and are well attended to. As i said, we looked at it for a wedding venue, and ended up completely falling in love with the place, so we got married here in February. Our guests were blown away with the high standard of service, that was never at any time compromised by the fact that hotel was completely full up. In fact, i can honestly say, i've never noticed a difference myself in the level of service provided there when it was quiet to full up.

The breakfast is fantastic and all served at your table, with plenty of choice for people of all ages! My incredibly fussy neices were delighted with the pancakes!

In short, we cannot wait to return to the Swan and soak up more of their unique and wonderful hospitality. My only worry is that the upcoming Spa development will increase its popularity, making it that much more difficult to make a booking to suit our conveniance - but that is a small price to pay for a lovely break away from home, to be able to stay somewhere so fabulous!

Room Tip: All the rooms are just beautiful, and individual. However, if you have trouble walking, do make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,005 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,124 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,181 reviews
23.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing