We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place; even more charming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had not stayed at The Swan - an iconic building in the beautiful Suffolk wool
town of Lavenham - for three years and this was, sadly, only a one night business trip. Once you get the hang of the labyrinthine lay-out, this is truly a fabulous English country hotel, but even if it did not have the picture-book looks it has, The Swan would score highly on the attentiveness, consideration and old-fashioned charm and politeness of its staff. "Nothing was too much trouble for them" may be a reviewers' cliché but it happens to be true. Customer service is obviously put
at a premium here and it showed despite the hotel being incredibly busy with several overlapping functions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Mike

Thank you for you kind comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your business trip to The Swan and we hope to welcome you soon on a leisure trip.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Our stay in The Swan Hotel was to celebrate a special occasion and the hotel was perfect, the attentive staff are customer focused from the moment you pull up outside until you drive away at the end of your stay.

Our room was a feature room with exposed beams, a huge fireplace and a large, comfortable bed. The provision of soft cotton bathrobes made stepping out of the large shower a delight. Guidebooks and literature about the hotel and surrounding area made exploring this beautiful village easy.

We had afternoon tea in the lounge in front of a roaring fire. Various scones were served with butter, clotted cream and jam along with a varied selection of teas and coffee.

After a walk around the village we stopped for a drink in the Airman's Bar, with its walls decked out in the history of the local RAF station. A huge variety of ales, wines and spirits are available with the selection of whiskey and bourbon being particularly impressive.

Dinner was simply out of this world with two exceptional three course menus being offered and consisting of a varied cuisine blending British and European tastes. The friendly staff were always on hand to top up your wine and water along with having an excellent knowledge of the menu.

After a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep the breakfast was able to set us up for the day ahead with juices, cereal, yoghurt, toast and a selection of main breakfasts. The Full Suffolk with its local produce was excellent.

We will definitely be back to The Swan!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris_UK_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Chris

I am so pleased we help make your special occasion that little bit more memorable and that you enjoyed every moment of your stay. I will pass your kind comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Yesterday I attended my Probus Club's Annual Luncheon held at the Swan. The ambiance was excellent together with the food and service. Fully recommend it for both restaurant and accommodation. It has been refurbished and extended whilst retaining the Tudor décor in this famous wool town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Bernard

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your club’s annual luncheon and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Swan on an overnight deal with dinner and breakfast.
This is the 2nd time we have done this.
The room (No 5) we had both times, this is upstairs at the the very quite rear of the hotel.
The Airmans bar is intresting due to the "preserved" wall that has notes/memos from US Airman based in the area during the war.
Once again an excellent meal and breakfast, all of the staff are very special.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very quite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Stephen

Thank you for visiting again and your kind comments. We are so pleased to hear from people who return to the hotel for more and I am pleased that you enjoyed your second visit with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Perhaps we should think of this ancient, olde worlde inn as an interesting museum, rather than as a hotel. Its undoubted charm, and stunning antiquity can certainly stir the heart of visitors from the new world.

It can even come close to making up for the postage-stamp sized rooms.

But its unrelentingly creaky floors and lack of sound insulation or adequately baffled windows to keep out the pre-dawn traffic noise, all conspire to prevent dropping off to sleep, or staying asleep for very long.

When this was mentioned to staff, it was obvious that (1) they hear it all the time, and (2) those complaining just don't get what these hotels are all about.

But to this traveler, sleep is Job 1 for any hotel, and The Swan owes me two nights sleep...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StillTheOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Traveller

I am sorry to read your experience did not live up to your expectations; we would never want this to be the case and will always try our best to rectify a situation. Please do contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further on 01787 247477

With regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend break staying at this historical hotel's feature room. The hotel is a 15th century structure beautifully restored and lovingly cared for into a charming and cozy hideaway in a Suffolk village.
Our feature room was in the ground floor a trek after exploring the creaky hallways. The room had exposed beams which had clearly seen centuries worth of stories. The rooms are low ceiling but perfectly comfortable and luxurious. Our only complaint is that it faces the main road and not exactly quiet. Although being in a village helps and the traffic died down in the night.
Dinner was a memorable experience in the handsome dining room.
We enjoyed getting lost in the corridors and felt included and genuinely felt closer to the history of the place.
A stay is an absolute must and strong recommendation if you're in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Remember to check if rooms face the main road since windows don't have double glazing. The beams...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrskapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Mrs Kapoor

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and you appreciated the unique character and history of the hotel.

We hope you visit again soon

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Set in the medieval town of Lavenham The Swan is a delightful hotel, full of character, spotlessly clean, exquisite rooms and excellent customer service. We have just stayed 2 night on a DBB deal which was great value for money. Contrary to what another reviewer said about restrictive menu choices there was a House Menu with 4 choices of each course or the a la carte was only £11 more as that was the overall difference in price. Alternatively you could order from The Brasserie menu too so plenty of choice and lovely quality food. They are currently building a spa so I can foresee a return visit on the cards!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Lynadi

Thank you for your kind comments I will pass these onto the team. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and you felt there were plenty of options on the menu. We look forward to welcoming you back with our new spa.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,208 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
717 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: $164 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing