We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECCOMEND THE SWAN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

very much enjoyed our little stay at the swan Lavenham (2 nights) a lovely timber framed building , oozing character , great service and delicious food , i dont often say this but i will be back , thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardhearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Richard
Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am pleased that every moment of your stay was enjoyed so much that you would like to return! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Really nice setting in the lounge, Wonderful range of cakes and scones, usual ( and I mean this in the nicest way) sandwiches. I hate the recent trend towards unusual sandwiches wild boar etc, although this is also on offer.
Glass of champaign went down nicely and again a good choice on offer.
Tea in proper china cups, you really can't beat proper china, no rush to eat, drink and leave, instead you are left to relax and take in the restful atmosphere of this charming place.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Gareth

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read you enjoyed the afternoon visit at The Swan, with the option of an alternative. We do hope you visit again.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the outside The Swan is impressive, step inside and it is quite magnificent! Acres of wooden beams reflecting the age of the building, beautiful furnishings, lovely lounges in which to relax and enjoy drinks (and afternoon tea if you like being spoiled), all this greats you before you have even booked in at reception. The staff are clearly well trained and managed and nothing is too much trouble for them. The bedrooms are immaculate, we had a Suite which was top draw, large lounge with comfy chairs and settee plus large TV, the bedroom had an Emperor size bed, another large TV and stylish furniture. The Gallery Restaurant is something out of a film set, once a courtyard, the fine craftsmanship in putting the magnificent timbered roof on plus gallery takes your breath away. The food and service is first class. The Brasserie offers a different menu but still the same level of service. One final comment, if you have 10 things to do before you die - make sure a stay at The Swan is near the top of such a list!

Room Tip: If you are older, book a room near to the staircase, the corridors are quite long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffrey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Geoffrey

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. I am very pleased to read your enjoyed your stay, the unique character of the hotel and our hard working team. We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We got a night and dinner for a christmas present from my son we had a lovely time the room was lovely with a four poster bed. I am a very fussy eater but that was no problem for any of the staff and they cooked me a completly different meal whiach was very nice the pudding was to die for.
the staff couldnt of been more attentive and we had a excellant break and will be recomending the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Kim

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read we helped make your stay special and the meal was perfect. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the future.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We got a cheap break but they didn't treat us any differently to anyone else they were so good to my son pandering to his every whim and fetched cotton buds for my wife! The rooms are beautiful and the lounge is so comfortable I could have sat in the couches all day with my paper and a coffee. The breakfast staff were terrific with my son and so patient.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back like ours were perfect and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Ron

I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit, of course everyone deserves the very best service and I am pleased to read you had a great experience. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A new experience, a decent hotel on a business trip. Be warned, no mobile phone coverage but that means no one can disturb you.

Excellent evening meal and very good choice of refereshments.

Well recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Tim

Thank you for taking the time to share your business experience at The Swan, I do hope the phone signal was not too much of an issue (and gave you a chance to relax a little).

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been to The Swan may times and it never fails to delight. A group of us visited for an early supper after a brilliant afternoon tour of beautiful, historic Lavenham (led by the very knowledgeable Barbara) and it was perfect. The sun shone all afternoon too. We had a large table in the contemporary dining area and had preordered our supper. So often when you order ahead, it is difficult to remember what you actually chose. No problem here as our orders were written on the back of our place cards; they even gave us our bills individually - a boon to a large and diverse group as no one wants to spoil a lovely day by having to sort out a bill for 20 when everyone had something different from an a la carte menu. The service is brilliant as is the food. I had delicious summer pea soup, grilled mackerel with roasted beetroot and crushed jersey Royals and coffee. The desserts looked superb and I wish I had ordered one of my own in retrospect - luckily my friends were happy to share!

Room Tip: The Hertford Suite is amazing - I have stayed on a previous occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JED457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear JED

Thank you for your kind comments. I am ever so pleased to read you had a lovely visit around Lavenham and lunch with friends, thank you for thinking of us and visit again. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,046 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,233 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
542 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: $152 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing