We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect anniversary treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a perfect overnight stay at the Swan Hotel, which we chose in order to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Despite having lived in Suffolk all of my life, I had not been to the lovely town of Lavenham since I was a child and it proved to be the ideal choice for a romantic night away, not least because of this fabulous hotel.
I booked the hotel for one night dinner, bed and breakfast basis, using a spring offer which I spotted on the hotels website. The offer was based on the lowest priced “classic” room, so on arriving at the hotel, we were absolutely delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a suite free of charge. An even nicer touch was the card from the hotel wishing us a happy anniversary. This was genuine attention to detail, especially as I only fleetingly mentioned the purpose for our visit in conversation when I booked over the telephone.
I can honestly say that, after many years of travelling and staying in good class hotels, the “Churchyard Suite” which we were allocated was simply the nicest hotel room we’ve ever stayed in (just knocking a fabulous room at the Hotel Tuilerieen in Bruges into a close second place).
It was huge suite with a small hallway a luxurious bathroom, and two stunningly spacious and beautifully furnished rooms. The sitting room had a lovely inglenook fireplace, sumptuous sofas and chairs and even a large dining table amongst numerous items of good quality furniture. The bedroom had a fabulously comfortable king sized bed and both rooms were equipped with flat screen televisions. In keeping with a building which dates back many hundreds of years, both rooms also had high pitched ceilings supported by a charmingly uneven framework of ancient beams which stretched up above us.
The rest of the hotel is equally charming. It’s a perfect mix of the sympathetically restored older buildings and some tasteful newer additions such as the Gallery Restaurant.
On the subject of the Gallery Restaurant, all the food we ate during ours stay was of the highest quality.
We had a delicious cream tea in the lounge area during afternoon, followed by an equally excellent meal in the restaurant later that evening. We had cocktails in the bar before our dinner and were able to make our choices from the menu whilst nibbling the tasty free canapés which were delivered with our menus. Although we stuck to a three course meal from the house menu, the choices were excellent with no real suggestion that the house menu was restricted too much by budget. All our three courses were perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and extremely tasty….my choice of sea bass with salmon and pea gnocchi being particularly worthy of praise.
We had a drink in the Airman’s bar after dinner which, although empty and lacking a bit of atmosphere, was fascinating as it gave us a chance to study some of the many handwritten inscriptions on the walls by various servicemen, dating back to the Second World War.
Breakfast the following morning, back in the Gallery Restaurant, was every bit as good as we expected after our meal the night before and then sadly we had to leave.
We had nothing but praise for this hotel. It’s a beautifully charming building, with lovely rooms, great food and perfect service from the team of staff working throughout the hotel. I heartily recommend it for anyone seeking a break in this lovely part of Suffolk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandN896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Gand

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your perfect stay, I am pleased you chose to celebrate your special anniversary with us. What kind comments about our rooms and attention to detail, I will pass these onto the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just come back from 3 nights at the Swan Hotel, Lavenham over Easter. Lavenham is an extraordinary place, a hidden gem. The Swan is the perfect place to experience the charm and history of the village. It is a beautiful timber-framed building with an atmospheric "Airman's Bar", two lovely restaurants (one grand, one relaxed) and very comfortable, cosy rooms. The lounge areas are luxurious and the afternoon tea outstanding. However the hotel's best selling point (apart from its location) is its charming, friendly staff who truly understand the meaning of "customer service". Every employee who served us went the extra mile and the hotel owners should be very proud of what they have achieved. The food in both restaurants and at breakfast is interesting and delicious. Portions may be a little small for some, but were perfect for us. The bar was buzzing every night with a mix of guests and locals. In summer the garden areas would be lovely (but Easter 2013 was a bit chilly for sunbathing!).

We highly recommend The Swan and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 34, Newton and had a lovely time (so much so that we stayed an extra night!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Monkeyhumble

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience to The Swan, I am pleased to read every moment of your stay was enjoyable. I will pass your kind comments on to the time.

We do hope to see you again soon

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I returned to The Swan last week for a meeting (with overnight stay) once again I found the staff professional, friendly, and helpful.
The bedroom was even nicer then the one that I had last time, and I thought that one was very good value for money so this was a nice surprise - although it was a bit of a warren to find it and I know a couple of our group (there were 16 of us) got lost on the way to their rooms once or twice!
We had booked their conference facility and I thought it was good value for a small meeting.

Room Tip: I was in room 57 and if you have trouble with uneven floors - the bathroom may not be great for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Jane

Thank you for taking the time to share your meeting experience at the hotel and for returning to the hotel. I am pleased the experience lives up to your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just spent our four-day Easter break, on a half-board deal, in this glorious hotel.
The rooms are gloriously quirky and even getting to your room is to explore the history of the building: to get to room 57, the Great Green Room, we went up and down through walls which had previously separated different houses, ending up over the Wildlife Art Gallery next door. Fabulous fun. Our room was very tastefully furnished and the bed gloriously comfortable.
The food is delicious and we tried a different selection of the menu each evening before coming back to our favourite selection for the final evening. You are invited to find a seat in one of the various lounge spaces before supper so that you can select from the menu while enjoying your appetisers.
We were touring around East Anglia and coming back to the hotel each evening felt like it was home.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Their special deals really can be especially good value: half board was 10% cheaper than B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear MrFG

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the quirky charm and character of the hotel. I do hope your touring of East Anglia was a success. Thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased the team made you feel at home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

What can you say about the delightful Swan that hasn't already been said?
Fantastic building, lovely staff, excellent food and a delightful room all helped with the experience but it was the little touches that set it apart from other "high class" hotels we have stayed in. We both agreed that we have never felt so relaxed as we did on Sunday afternoon, sitting by a log fire, eating a delightful cream tea watching the world slowly drift by. A big thank you to all the staff but especially the young lady who assisted us with our cream teas, Norbert for the excellent dinner service and chat, Charlie for the scotch advice and Shane for his fire lighting patience.
Would we go back? A definite yes. We both agreed that it was a fantastic break. A big thank you to all involved.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Draper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Draper

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your two day break and found sitting by the log fire so relaxing. I will pass your kind comments on to all the team and the team members you have mentioned.

We do hope you visit again soon and look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently spent time at the Swan Hotel for dinner bed and breakfast. The staff throughout our stay were efficient, courteous, friendly and all went the extra mile to make our visit extra special.

The buidling itself if fascinating, history pulsating through it's core - wonderfully clean and with log fires in main visitor areas.

Our room was an acceptable size and with a large comfortable bed. Bathroom also much larger than a usual hotel bathroom.

Set Dinner was realistically priced but uninspiring so we opted for the a la carte menu. All the food was presented perfectly and of a high standard and was served well and accompanied by good wine reasonably priced.

Will definitely be visiting again in the not too distant future. Thank you to all the amazing staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Hilary

Thank you ever so much for you kind comments, I will pass them onto the team. I am pleased to read you appreciated the unique building with charm and history.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not to distance future.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Swan in March this year and although the hotel itself is set in a lovely village location and is beautifully appointed the overall experience was disappointing. The room that I stayed is was very sumptuous however the thickness of the walls was thin and noise travelled down a large fireplace in the room. This meant that I could hear everything in the rooms ajoining - including a loud TV that was not turned off until 3.30 a.m. Car Park lights also were outside the window - also not condusive to a good night's sleep.

The breakfast the next day was very good, however the service from the restaurant manageress was quite brusque and not at all welcoming. During the day too, the service from the waiting staff providing tea/coffee and refreshments was slow and seemed too much effort all-round. Lunch was very good food and better service.

This was a hotel that I was prepared to spend a private weekend away at but not now - over-priced for the quality of service provided..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middletonmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Middleton

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your time however I am sorry to hear that there were a few issues during your stay and of course these should not have happened, these will be addressed.

I hope this does not deter you from visiting in the future

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss this further.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,051 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,244 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
544 reviews
18 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: $138 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing