We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you would expect plus a great deal more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“All you would expect plus a great deal more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

What an amazing experience. Such an attentive team of staff. Every one was totally dedicated to ensuring that we had a memorable visit - which we did. We were particularly impressed with the warm welcome given to our 2 year old grandson - they really are very child friendly. We loved the amazing pianist in the minstrels gallery. Our special thanks go to Vicky.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Peter

Thank you for kind comments, I will pass these on the team. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us and I do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    238
    75
    19
    16
See reviews for
145
734
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The whole experience of the swan was class, booked a feature room with dinner in the gallery of which was deliciously exquisite.staff were very efficient and friendly. room was lovely with beautiful on-suite bathroom. Cannot wait to return maybe when the weather is nice so that we enjoy drinks in the garden.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomarsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Jomarsay

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share you feedback. I do hope you have the chance to experience the secluded Suffolk garden on your next visit; it is wonderful in the summer with a nice glass of Pimms.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were attending a wedding nearby and booked based on all great reviews on TA- it didn't let us down.
We did not have a great start to our week end as a certain orange airline had left our luggage (with wedding and dinner clothes) at our original airport. I was a little concerned as we had booked in the restaurant for dinner and had only the clothes we travelled in (jeans and warm woolies) The hotel were super, they made us feel very welcome and assured us that it would not be a problem. The food was a delight as was the service, the restaurant was packed and although we were the most under dressed there we didn't feel too bad. The lounge and bar area for the pre-dinner drinks was buzzy with people and also the warm atmosphere provided by real fires.
Our room was cosy, with very comfortable beds, clean bathroom and fluffy towels. Breakfast was superb with a great selection and just too tempting to turn down cooked dishes. (local sausages bacon etc)
We stayed a couple of nights, also experiencing a snack lunch in the lounge. The one tip i would offer to the hotel is to ensure the staff really understand the local area and their guests, on asking for the nearest place for a manicure and blow dry, they booked it for me, but the next day on asking where it was i was told i'd definitely need to drive there. Had it not been for my husband noticing the street on an earlier foray into the town we would have got in the car - it was a 15minute walk...perhaps that was too long for the member of staff but for us it was a gentle stroll and another opportunity to see a little more of lovely Lavenham.
All in all a fabulous week end....the orange airline went out of their way to deliver our luggage in plenty of time for the wedding too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear CazzaJoe

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and how lovely that our previous guests’ comments helped you pick us. I do hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended. I will pass your kind comments on to all the team. We do hope you have the chance to visit again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I decided to 'do a tour' of coaching houses in England and were lucky enough to stay at quite a few over the last 3 or 4 years. We always said we would rate them 'just for fun' and re-visit our favourite. The Swan tied for first place with The Bell at Stilton and we have just spent another luxury night at The Swan. It was just as good as the first time ie excellent! The parking, the reception, the booking in procedure, the room (suite) which was wonderful. The dinner, which was preceded by canapes, we only had the table d'hote which was superb and the breakfast which is all brought to your table (even the juice) and is all hot and freshly cooked. Just excellent!

Room Tip: We stayed in an 'ordinary room' the first time and a suite the second time. Both were superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chashemsbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Chasehemsbrook

WOW, thank you for rating us as your number one, how lovely that you and your wife returned to your favourite, what a unique idea. We do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was the last treat the day after my husbands 70th birthday, thank goodness as I started this in November in London! From the moment you step into the door, they are the most welcoming and attentive staff. We had a gorgeous feature room, No. 52 which was perfect, actually made him feel younger amongst the old timbers! We couldn’t have been looked after better than the Queen herself by Vicki in the lounge area that afternoon. The hotel is always busy with Sunday lunches and the Afternoon Teas but they still ensure that you want for nothing. Even when there was a large party with one very loud person, we were discreetly moved to another seat when it became free so we could continue our reading undisturbed, she appeared to be a mind reader!! As per normal, the evening meal with excellent, again, the staff couldn’t bend over backwards enough to accommodate the likes and dislikes of us both to ensure we were served with a perfect meal. Best nights sleep I have had for ages as I am a very light sleeper, no disturbance during the night, you would never know that you were staying at a hotel with other guests.
Breakfast was a pleasure in itself - Jacqueline would be a great bonus at any hotel as often, lack of care and service at breakfast lets a hotel down but not here. Piping hot food, very tasty and perfect , discrete service - she is certainly an asset to the Swan. Thanks to all the staff who made this a perfect end to his 70th weekend celebrations and we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillviewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Hillview

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and team, I will pass these on. I am pleased to read we helped make your celebration that extra bit more special. We do hope you visit again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just needed to get away for the day . Having not had time last year to call in at Lavenham on our way back from the Norfolk coast we thought, why not. The only parking spot we could find was opposite the Swan. It was lunchtime and we had heard good reports,so we decided to give it a go. What a great choice. We didn't really want the formality of eating in the restaurant so we opted for the bar. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and it is not hard to see why the Swan has such a good reputation. A big plus for us was the food was hot, beautifully presented and really good value. Having tried it for the day we would definitely love to spend a weekend there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMarlinstravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear lbluemarlin

Thank you for your kind comments, the team do work hard and appreciate such nice feedback. We do hope you visit again soon to sample our other two dining options and relaxing bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Dropped in midweek for quick meal in the brasserie area. The surroundings are superb, even on a quiet day in January the hotel had a relaxing atmosphere. The Swan is not so much a Hotel, Restaurant or Tourist attraction it is an institution. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the service excellent and the food hot, freshly sourced and freshly cooked. Oh and we found it excellent value for money as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Walkerz

Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass these on to the team. We do hope you drop by again soon to try the other delights that the hotel has to offer.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing