We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Log fires burning warmly, private and comfy places to sit, and the anticipation of a wonderful meal in the beathtaking gallery restaurant, what more could you wish for. Well you might wish for an entire town which has changed little for five hundred years. The builings alive and vibrant yet preseved as if by a miracle. Finding this place was an event, and I would like others to have the same experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road as this will be quieter, and chack that the bath is full size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Anthony

I am pleased that you enjoyed the magical setting of the Swan at Lavenham, we truly are lucky to be in such a unique town, with over 300 listed buildings. Thank you for taking the times to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

918 - 924 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have spent 3 New Year holidays here and it really is the best one we have been to. The hotel is the perfect English Hotel with a wonderful understated atmosphere. Beautiful public areas with open fires and plenty of comfortable sofas and chairs. The rooms we have stayed in have always been spacious and comfortable, the suites in particular are excellent. The bathrooms are modern and well equipped with good showers and plenty of toiletries. My only reservation is that there is no safe in the rooms. They do offer safety deposits at reception but this is very inconvenient for watches,wallets, jewellery, cameras and iPads or laptops etc. These are things that all travellers need at hand.
The food is exceptional, a wonderful fixed menu on the celebratory evenings and a very interesting and varied A La Carte menu on other nights. A good wine list, not over priced.
Almost the best aspect of this hotel are the staff who are always helpful with a cheerful smile and wanting to attend to your every need.
We always leave wanting to return.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the front of the hotel as can be noisy first thing in the morning from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear NigelWelch

How lovely to hear from a well experienced loyal supporter, I am especially pleased to read you appreciate the helpful and friendly staff.. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience and for your kind comments. I do hope you return soon and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks
Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here recently for a family wedding on in the hotel. It was really really good! The hotel and the village is beautiful, the food was excellent and the rooms were very impressive, the staff delivered on every count to a demanding crowd! I would recommend this hotel to families, couples etc without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triggerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear triggerIreland

I am pleased to read you were part of a wedding in the hotel, we do enjoy such magical moments and I am very happy that you enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. We do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Swan in Lavenham over Christmas and were really delighted by the hotel.

Check-in was a really warm, welcoming, friendly and efficient.

Our heavy bags were taken to our room by, Oliver, delightful porter, who was just as pleasant and as welcoming as our receptionist.

Room 12 was immaculate. It's the top half of one of the gables of the old wool hall at the back of the building. It's one of the main reason that the Swan is a grade 1 listed building. It has a very comfortable half-tester bed and cosy armchairs and furniture with a suitably antique feel. The room has a real sense of history. It's open to the rafters... all of the woodwork and joints are on full display.

The windows give enchanting views across Water Street to the Grade 1 listed Lavenham Priory and across Lady Street to one of the most charming half-timbered frontages in England.

Just a few moments wander down the street... is the the setting for the village of Godrick's Hollow in the Harry Potter films.

On Christmas Eve we settled down to afternoon tea in a part of the hotel that was once a medieval hall house. After a gently stroll and a chance to change for dinner it was a delightful champagne and canopies reception while being entertained by a local choir singing Christmas carols. All followed by a beautifully presented dinner and more seasonal music. Midnight Mass for those who chose was in the local church... which has the highest tower in England.

On Christmas Day, staff at every turn, very genuinely wished guests a Merry Christmas and made sure everything ran as perfectly as possible. Lunch was a delight and accompanied again by live music. Everything was calm, controlled and unhurried. That evening the hotel laid on a delicious informal buffet to whet the appetite and a Christmas quiz for those who wanted to enjoy a light-hearted evening.

Throughout the food was tempting, delicious, and a delight to look at when it arrived at the table. The wine list was exactly what we would have hoped for at any time.

In the evenings and only a few moments walk from the Swan... we had the delights of a magical medieval square with a Christmas tree in the middle lit by a myriad of tiny white fairy lights.

We were great fans of the Swan in the halcyon days when it was owned by the Forte Group prior to a hostile takeover by Grenada in 1996. We had been back several times but it seemed that the glory days had long gone.

Now with new owners, a superb staff who take pride in providing an exceptionally high level of service and an outstanding manager, the Swan at Lavenham is back where it should be.... as one of the best hotels in the country...

We’ve already booked for next Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twotravellersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear twotravellers

Wow what an accolade, thank you for your kind comments and labelling us as one of ‘the best hotels in the country’, we do enjoy reading such fabulous feedback. Thank you for choosing to celebrate Christmas at The Swan. I am pleased that your time with us was delightful and will pass your kind comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at The Swan on New Year's Day and were beautifully looked after by the staff. Our room was full of character, wonky and on a slight slope but despite this it had all the mod cons you would expect. We ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal. The only criticism would be that the pastry was very thick and really stood out as everything else had been perfect. When we pointed this out at the end of the meal, we were told that the pastry was the only thing not made at the hotel- I think they should start making their own! I thoroughly recommend the Swan and look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wivenhoe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Wivenhoe40

Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments about your experience at The Swan. I am pleased to read you enjoyed New Year’s Day with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Swan for a new year two night package, it was our first visit to the Swan hotel in Lavenham. It is a beautiful hotel and above all the service from the staff is second to none, every detail is thought out, Debbie was particularly helpful in ensuring my dietary requirements were met and the food was fabulous. We stayed on one of the suites and our room was beautiful. A fabulous experience will definately stay with you again at new year, we also met some lovely people on pour dinner table. A note to the Manager your staff are3 a credit to you. Thank you
Richard and Trisha

Room Tip: Suite are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Richard & Trisha

I am so pleased to read you enjoyed celebrating New Years with everyone at The Swan, it is lovely to hear that you had such a great time. Thank you for your kind comments about the team at the Swan, they always appreciate such kind feedback. We do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room was very pleasant, the staff friendly and the food beautiful. Breakfast was properly served, no self service here. It is a very odd building and full of character, the staff made sure we had a really good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annesleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Annesley

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the unique style to the hotel. I will pass your kind comments on to the team.

Kind regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,030 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,222 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
730 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: $159 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing