We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly and well organised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great friendly and well organised”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room was very pleasant, the staff friendly and the food beautiful. Breakfast was properly served, no self service here. It is a very odd building and full of character, the staff made sure we had a really good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annesleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Annesley

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the unique style to the hotel. I will pass your kind comments on to the team.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    254
    82
    21
    16
See reviews for
151
766
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is exactly as we imagined it and is just the kind of place we like to stay for a weekend.
Its an old building and we had to go up and down and around a bit to our room, dodging under low beams in the corridors - perfect!Our junior suite was beautifully furnished and spacious and the bathroom luxurious. The public rooms were well laid out and attractive, the dining room very impressive but still with a welcoming atmosphere and the bistro and bar nice and relaxed. The garden was lovely ( we went in July 2012) and it was nice to sit outside and have tea there.We ate in the dining room and bistro and enjoyed both very much.
The hotel has its own car park and an overflow car park across the road but its also easy to park on the street.
The staff are friendly,helpful and efficient and service was quick everywhere except one day in the garden when we were sort of missed for a while.

Lavenham itself is small and quiet with just a few shops , a church and a museum to see - as well as the lovely old buildings of course . There are several attractions around the area such as NT properties.We would recommend this hotel especially to anyone wanting a relaxed and civilised break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibstermanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Bibstermanu

Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad to read you really enjoy the old charm and character. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Two day break for a wedding nearby. Thought we might feel out of place as we walked in with jeans and trainers after a long journey - not all stuffy a home from home. Were upgraded to a superior double, lovely room full of character. The rest of he building was so special and full of character we took ourselves on quick tour of all the corridors al up and down and mind your head.

Lovely logs fires and the dining room was a highlight. Breakfast was great lovely food and we had a meal in the Brasserie first night.

Only thing getting of the bath you had to be flexible to reach towels or you would end up in the toilet, especially with the sloping floors. A sliding shower screen would be better.

A lovely hotel with lovely relaxed, smart and attentive staff set in lovely village, wish we could have stayed a few days longer. Sort of place you would love to be stuck when snowed in.

Room Tip: We were in 57 great room but a little noisy when traffic gets going if window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Binnsie

Thank you for the kind feedback, I will pass this on to the team. We do hope you visit again soon (maybe in the snow)

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

we stayed with our dog shadow for the xmas cooking demo
My partner came back with some excellent cooking ideas for xmas which he will put into action for the day
We requested a room near the garden for our dog which is what we got it was bijou but beautifully comfortable and the bed was turned back and toiletries replaced and our dogs teddy put lovingly on the pillow
The staff as always were professional attentive and not intrusive

Room Tip: if you have a dog choose the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkNat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear NorfolkNat

I am pleased you, your partner and Shadow had a lovely time with us at the hotel and enjoyed the culinary master-class with head chef Justin and Ben. I will pass your kind comments on to the team. Keep any eye out for our new class dates in 2013.

Kind regards
Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I must be honest; i have been going to the Swan at Lavenham since 1968. I shall pretend to you that I was a babe in arms - OK I wasn't, I was an early teenager! Under Trust House Forte is was great. later under McDonald Hotels (enough said, my early ancestry is Scots but, oh Dear!) Now it is superb. Ingo and John and their team really care and if something should be wrong do say and it will be quietly cured as after all we are all human. Anyway, I am distracted, the food; yes the food is really good . There are two restaurants, and there is something for everyone and the budget is affordable - sorry, what a silly phrase, what is a affordable to a multi billionaire and what is affordable to a person on benefits is different. What I mean is that at the Swan you are guaranteed a good welcome and it is the same if you have a Lamborghini in the car park or you came by bus. The food is great; enjoy. The welcome is special and best of all, it is sincere and you aren't bothered if you don't want to be. I love Lavenham

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the Main road and instead ask to face one of the courtyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryKLavenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Henry

Thank you for your very enjoyable feedback. As such a loyal guest it is always lovely to hear your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Spent a three day break recently at the Swan on their Autumn Saver package which includes b&b plus one evening meal in restaurant and an afternoon cream tea. Whilst it isn't cheap its worth it. Had a feature room which was simply beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The building itself is the star and has just a wonderful ambiance and stunning features. The airman's bar is nice and the central restaurant atmospheric with exceptional food. We also ate out in Michael Pierre White's Angel Hotel in the town and this was also an excellent meal of similar standard. Lavenham is a beautiful interesting small town and Suffolk has many such highlights including nearby Long Melford with a stunning church. It's perfect for a quiet break.

Room Tip: Opt for a feature room if you can afford the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Scrummy

Thank you for your kind comments and noting our high quality and service standards. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and exploring Lavenham and the beautiful Suffolk countryside. I will pass our kind comments on to the team.

With kind regards Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

omg if anyone is moaning at the prices they are nuts ! well worth the money... fair enought the wine a little pricey in the bar but you expect that in a proper hotel. our room was exceptional i didnt want to leave! it was for my other halves birthday and we were blown away with the whole stay... food ... staff... room ... with out a doubt the best place ive ever stayed makes places like the white lion in aldeburgh which we have stayed seem like a basic b&b!

Room Tip: we would highly recommend room 48 it was lovely and would definately go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_wood-cossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Kevin

WOW, what great compliments. Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am pleased your stay was exceptional. I do hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
992 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,164 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,109 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing