We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas was magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Christmas was magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have never stayed away from home before but havng lost my Step-Father earlier in the year it seemed the right thing to do. We have eaten on a number of occasions at The Swan and being in such a beautful location we felt that it fitted our needs. We were not disappointed, where to begin!
A wonderful welcome with mulled wine and afternoon tea in front of a roaring fire. We were delighted with our accomodation my husband and I had The Constable Suite and my Mum and Daughter The Great Green Room both were beautifully appointed with toweling robes for the duration of the stay, a nice selection of toiletries and to our delight a gift from Santa. The champagne reception Christmas Eve followed by a gorgeous dinner was a wonderful way to start the Christmas break. Christmas morning was lovely we abstained from breakfast prefering to save room for lunch ( a wise decision) but found a lovely spot in the lounge where we settled down and played cards, we endulged in cocktails which were gorgeous and then had canapies and champagne before Christmas lunch.
Lunch was AMAZING, the weekend continued and was perfect, the only complaint would be the generous food portions which you could no resist!!!!! Our dogs were warmly welcomed which was lovely as they are a huge part of our family.
A definant must if you ever get the chance.
Thank you to all the staff who were so friendly and kind.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    238
    75
    19
    16
See reviews for
145
734
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed here for just one night and were upgraded to a better room. Very atmospheric, including remnants of medieval wallpaper. The hotel is lovely and one of the oldest buildings I've stayed overnight in. Service is good (some staff could be a little bit more friendly perhaps), food is good too, and it has a lovely garden. Certainly a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londoncalling72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed here on a one night deal in October. We were a little concerned when we couldn't find a parking spot, but the staff couldn't have been more helpful in showing us alternative places to park.

Check-in was as smooth as we could have wished for and we were offered the services of a porter for our one bag. We were a little concerned on approach to our room as it appeared to be the broom cupboard under the stairs. How wrong could we have been? The door opened into the most amazing room. Not the biggest I have ever stayed in, but still huge compared to most hotels these days. The furniture was beautiful and along with the decor, complemented this extremely old building beautifully. The bathroom was very well designed and the complimentary toiletries were without doubt the most luxurious I have ever used in a hotel.

About ten minutes after we walked into the room, the phone rang - it was reception checking that everything was ok and that we had all we needed.

As part of our deal, we had booked a cream tea. We arrived a few minutes late, but were not made to feel at all awkward about it. We were given our choice of seating in the comfortable lounge and tea was served. Scones were warm and home-made. Fruit scones were delicious but the apple and walnut - there are no words to describe the flavour of these culinary miracles. Jam and clotted cream were served in generous portions.

After a stroll around this beautiful old village and a look in the small shops that populate the high street, it was time to return to the hotel to get ready for dinner.

The restaurant is high-ceilinged with a gallery and has such a wonderful warm feeling to it. The staff were so attentive all evening, despite the fact that there was a large party as well as numerous smaller tables like ours. I am sure the staff have all been trained in ESP as every time either of us even thought about topping up our wine glasses, a waiter appeared to do it for us. Ditto when we needed extra butter to accompany the homemade bread rolls. I don't think we had to ask for anything all evening - in fact, we had the distinct impression that if we had to ask, the staff would have felt they had failed us in some way!

The food was simply fantastic. Every course was perfectly thought out and executed by the chef. Cured Wild Boar, soft boiled quail's egg ( how does any one ever achieve that? ), duck, partridge, vegetables - all prepared and served perfectly. A special mention to the apple dessert. Nicely tart without being sour. The nutmeg ice-cream was to die for.

Breakfast was just as good. All cooked perfectly and to order . High quality ingredients made this a very enjoyable meal.

The bed was very comfortable and our room was exactly the right temperature.

Would I stay here again? Oh yes! Would I drive the 40 odd miles just to eat in this restaurant? Absolutely.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We went on a special Sunday night dinner bed and breakfast. The standard is excellent would recommend the hotel to anyone. Rooms are clean modern and very comfortable. great value for money

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Spotless, elegant, comfortable room and bed. The whole hotel is a well furnished, well run, very pleasant staff. Log fires, delightful lounges. And, oh the food!! The restuarant with beams abounding and food to suit even the most discerning palate.

This is a hotel for that very special occasion as a treat, set in the very interesting and unique mediaeval village of Lavenham . Its not cheap but worth every penny. Go on treat yourself, you won`t be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank french45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I only stayed in this hotel for 1 night with work. Lavenham is a beautiful village and this hotel fits in nicely. The public areas downstairs are quite spectacular and the rooms whilst not being enormous were nicely finished and comfortable. There was free wifi which was great (you just have to get the password from reception) but on the downside certainly if you are with 02 there is no mobile signal unless you wander down the street a bit. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and tolerant.
We ate in the gallery restaurant and it had a nice ambience and the food was of a “Masterchef” variety. I have to say the veggie choice was quite poor although the one choice was quite exotic and well prepared.
There is a small car park at the rear of the building, which is free, and there is some on-road parking nearby if the car park is full.
I didn’t make it down to breakfast as I had to be in work earlier than them but they informed me that it was excellent.
I paid £82 corporate rate for the room, but have no idea how much the evening meal cost.
I would certainly use this hotel again if I need to stay in this area again for work, and would like to return with Liz as it’s such a lovely village.
I hope you find my review helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We attended my relatives Golden Wedding celebration at The Swan last Friday 9th December. We had a small party, just 10 of us, and used a private room complete with our own waiter, for a lunchtime celebration (I dont know the young waiters name, but he was excellent). The service was absolutely fantastic, and the setting and the room, with its roaring log fire and christmas tree were superb. We all mostly had the christmas lunch menu, which was absolutely delicious! Our whole party had the most lovely time and felt The Swan looked after us very well. We would not hesitate to go back and would definately use The Swan again for a celebration and will most definately be going back, cant wait!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing