We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
424
62
23
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
424
62
23
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tudor room restaurant with rooms complimentary sherry french restaurant cheese trolley continental breakfast cheese board four poster market square foie gras french staff lamb cutlets set menu wine list coffee machine excellent restaurant special occasion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We managed to book a table for the two of us last minute on a Saturday night- and were shown to a fairly quiet corner just opposite the bar- perfect. The staff looked after us really well and we were grateful for not being disturbed during our food to answer to ‘is everything okay with your meal?’ as you’d usually get. They were attentive enough if we did ask for anything, and they all looked so diligent and focused- but with a smile. Our meals were absolutely sublime; fresh, interesting, attractive, beautifully prepared and filling. We’re so glad we cancelled our reservation at our hotel that night in favour of the Great House! We will be back one day, and in the meantime will recommend this lovely place.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Return visit and although good, was not to the same standard as two years ago. Waiting staff still have some refining to do. Food was very good but not exceptional. It's the little things that make a difference like warm bread rolls, someone topping up the wine etc.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

This is my 4th visit since Regis sold the restaurant on, and now it is noticeable. With the departure of Thierry there are no original members of the team left, and whilst the waiting staff were extremely pleasant there is a definite drop in standards. The set main now has just 4 choices without the option of extra charge dishes, the wine menu remains extensive and good, the addition of an amuse bouche is a nice touch. The food itself is very good, but slightly lacks the wow factor of the past. A lovely place to visit, but is a shade off its former self.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank louloubelle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I came here last week. We simply had the most splendid time. The staff team were fabulous and the food sublime. You must come for dinner. Oh and don't get me started on the rooms! Our room was just beautiful. Very clean, attention to detail was great and nice quality products. The coffee machine was awesome! Love it. Thanks guys. We will come again!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank chanterelleandcep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

Lunch here was delicious, we had good service and really can't fault the food but a bit expensive for our budget. Situated in the central square of the town it is certainly a 'good looker' as you approach. Although not a fan of French food, having eaten here I could become a convert!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Savysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews