We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lavenham Guildhall

Lavenham Guildhall
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beautiful building in one of England's most beautiful villages. Very good exhibits and tour through. We spent an hour discovering the Guildhall and could have spent more if time allowed. A 'must see'.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Classic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    160
    23
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting but......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were staying in Lavenham and, as NT Members, a visit to the Guildhall was a must. The space is well laid out with photographs, documents and exhibits and it tells an interesting tale of days past in Lavenham. On the following day, we enjoyed coffee and cake in the coffee shop/restaurant. Our only slight concern is the cost of admission for non-members of the NT which seems high. We appreciate that this pricing policy is designed to encourage the take up of annual memberships; however, given Lavenham's location we just wonder whether the cost of a visit might put many occasional visitors off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HenGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Loved everything -lovely tea room and shop, very interesting building, watching ladies lacemaking was fascinating!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice place for elevensees and lunch, but not overly big inside. Obviously better when the weather is nice, as you can sit out in the back garden. Staff friendly and lunch good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zebedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Busy venue with lots going on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Visited on a day when there was an exhibition of weaving very interesting and enjoyable couple of hours spent looking at the spinning and weavers showing how they do it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chilledmumDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavenham Guildhall also viewed

Lavenham, Babergh District
Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds
 
East Bergholt, Babergh District
 

Been to Lavenham Guildhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing