We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best hen do!”
other traveler has booked this property
The bunkhouse from the farm track
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bunkhouse from the farm track
Kitchen where 20 can cook and eat together - pantry in room behind. Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The bunkhouse from the farm track
Kitchen where 20 can cook and eat together - pantry in room behind.
Kitchen
Kitchen -  cooker with double oven, dishwasher, fridge-freezer and second freezer in pantry.
20 guests feasting
Private Gainsborough bunk bedroom sleeps 2 ground floor, next to large wet-room
Private Constable bunk bedroom sleeps 2 ground floor, opposite large wet-room
Ground-floor bunk bedroom sleeps 8, use of two showers, two loos.
One of the downstairs loos
Upstairs cosy sitting room with TV and WiFi
Sitting room
Upstairs bedroom sleeps 8 in conventional beds, with shower and loo next door, fire exit.
Detail of upstairs bedroom
Detail of upstairs bedroom
Happy guests about to walk to local village Lavenham
Cooking herbs - lavender, rosemary, sage - help yourself
Relax in the rural garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Lavenham, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The best hen do!”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What can I say! Having had the perfect hen do in mind and struggling to find somewhere affordable that suited the needs of my very relaxed group of 17 women, I had almost given up hope when one of my bridesmaids stumbled upon this gem. We had been looking for somewhere to get away and chill out without a stripper or a fluffy pink head bopper in sight, but rather trees and fields and rivers, and this did NOT disappoint. The location was beautifully rural and so peaceful, but also just a short drive away from local shops and pubs. The house itself was immaculately clean and set up for groups like us, with plenty of showers, toilets, comfy sofa space and long tables for group meals. The bedrooms were spotless, the beds were incredibly comfy and there was plenty of space for outdoor activities as well as car parking. Juliet was a brilliant host, catering for all our needs and being so accommodating. One of my friends ran a pottery painting class and another ran a yoga class, both of which worked well in the space we had. We spent a beautiful sunny Saturday kayaking down the river to a lovely pub where we sat and had some drinks and food before heading back. I just cannot fault this place, it made for the most fantastic hen do, every single person enjoyed it and it was the perfect location for the group to get to know each other and enjoy a lovely relaxing weekend before the wedding mayhem at the end of June. Thank you SO much Juliet for such a wonderful stay and we will definitely be looking to come back one day!

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
So pleased you had such a happy time and everything worked for you - you certainly packed in the activities with pottery, yoga and kayaking! Great to know all the bunkhouse facilities were good too. Look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here for my sisters hen at the end of May. After a long searching process I found the Brooder Bunkhouse and I couldn't believe my luck- Stunning accommodation at a very affordable price! When I first booked, the building was still in renovation processes but I knew it would be fabulous based on the rest of the Tudor Barn website. Well, it far exceeded my highest expectations!

The whole group was so impressed by the luxury of the bunkhouse and the beauty of the farm and surrounding area. The eclectic and globally inspired decor received so many compliments. The bunkhouse is finished to such a high standard with a gorgeous kitchen, living room and ridiculously comfortable beds. The building is superbly set up for groups and accommodated all our group activities perfectly over the weekend. All the recommendations that Juliet, the owner, made prior to us arriving were invaluable and really took the hassle out of organising the weekend.

Here are just a few of things we did-
We went on a lovely bike ride to local Kersey using the bunkhouse bikes. The countryside is stunning and the bikes were so comfortable and easy to ride. They were a pleasure to cycle. (Juliet provided maps and a local quiz which definitely took the hassle out of organising a group cycle)

I organised a life drawing class with a hen party twist, through a company suggested by Juliet. Eastern Life Drawing were brilliant! I couldn't recommend them highly enough. Rob, the model, tailored the whole class around my sister and prepared a special theme to make it personal to her. It was so much fun and was hilarious too. I don't think any of the hens will forget it in a hurry!

We ordered in homemade catered food from the Suffolk homemade food- it was delicious!
We also ordered Indian from local Lavenham- Memsaab had so many dishes on offer and some really nice alternatives to your regular Indian. The whole group commented on how tasty it was. (The only small drawback is that you need to drive and collect the food, worth keeping in mind)

The beautiful bunkhouse and all of Juliet's recommendations made for a really memorable weekend that my sister loved. I will be actively looking for a reason to return and book again!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
Thank you so much for those kind comments .... glad the beds, bunkhouse, bikes, countryside, food and activities all worked so well for your sister and the group. Thanks for leaving it so tidy and please do come again - and spread the word!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolly1303
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing accommodation in beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Juliet and Christopher are perfect hosts and have created an amazing space for a large group. We were there for my sisters hen weekend and it enabled us to have relaxation and fun at the same time. We visited Ipswich and chartered a boat, stayed more local for dinner in the lovely town of Sudbury and had a night in our PJ's and cooked in the well equipped kitchen. All the facilities at the bunkhouse are 5 star, the beds are ridiculously comfortable. Best night sleep I've had a for a while and I know the other girls agreed! We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thanks for the glowing feedback and for leaving everywhere so tidy - so glad you had a happy time. And delighted to hear the beds are ridiculously comfortable! Look forward to welcoming you back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiesmit...
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic property for 20 people, excellent condition and facilities along with a perfect location.”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful weekend at the Brooder Bunkhouse. The bunkhouse was perfect for a party of 20 girls. The equipment in the property was first class, everything that you needed! Comfortable kitchen area to sit around and have drinks whilst cooking, perfect cosy lounge upstairs, with plenty of room for us to dance. The bedrooms were very good and lovely comfortable beds. Highly recommend the bunkhouse and will definitely return. The owners provided maps and guides for walks and the location was amazing.

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Thank you for your lovely feedback and I'm so pleased you had such a happy weekend - thank you for leaving everywhere so immaculate. And please come again - and borrow the 20 bikes next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilarybus...
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect base for large, inter-generational family get-together”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Set in beautiful countryside, with plenty of outdoor space for a games-mad family. It exceeded all expectations in terms of value for money; well laid out for large groups, well equipped and comfortably furnished. Despite most of the accommodation being dorm style, everyone commented on how good the mattresses were, and we all loved the property's very individual, colourful style. Lots of good bathrooms and loos, so no queuing even at peak times! We only did one walk as this was a very overdue family catch up, and we mainly stayed around the house and garden, but it was clear from all the literature in the house, that the area would be an interesting one to explore. We would not hesitate to recommend this to friends or family- we had a wonderful weekend!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thank you for that lovely review ... glad you found everywhere so comfortable and enjoyed the outdoor games - and all the colour of the bunkhouse! Please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellencave
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hen party in the gorgeous Suffolk countryside”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a fantastic weekend at the Bunkhouse - the accommodation is absolutely lovely and the surroundings are beautiful. The Bunkhouse is very comfortable and homely, with everything you could ever need. Lovely beds, kitchen and living room. Plenty of bathrooms and showers - a must for 15 ladies! We had the best fun, cooking together and eating round the lovely rustic farmhouse-style tables, playing games and doing crafts - as well as making a few cocktails! We did a wonderful circular walk to nearby Lavenham. It's a stunning little town, definitely worth a visit. Had lunch at Number Ten, which we would also recommend highly, the food was delicious and they catered for our large party without batting an eyelid. The owner, Juliet, came and greeted us and gave us information about the local area, which was a lovely friendly touch. To conclude - don't hesitate to book! It's such a great place to stay, I already want to go back - as do all the other ladies who stayed. Thank you!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Thank you for that glowing feedback and for being such an easy group ... and leaving the bunkhouse immaculate. There is so much to do locally and in the bunkhouse - without having to spend a fortune - please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_EAE...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant beautiful accommodation for a number of families to get together”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The bunkhouse is really lovely, comfortable, beautiful accommodation. Bathrooms were clean and well finished. Really comfortable beds! It was a brilliant weekend for 3 families to meet and chill out together, walk around the countryside and enjoy time outdoors- even in february. The kitchen and dining area worked so well and the kitchen was really well equipped. It was a relaxing get away. Plenty of space for our guests, lovely bathrooms, brilliant games room and a very friendly host on hand.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thanks for this really encouraging review from one of our first guests! Glad the bunk beds were so comfortable and the farm was fun even in February! Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing