We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing accommodation in beautiful surroundings!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of many ponds on the environmentally friendly farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
One of many ponds on the environmentally friendly farm
Borrow our 20 adult road bikes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Lavenham, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dolly1303
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing accommodation in beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Juliet and Christopher are perfect hosts and have created an amazing space for a large group. We were there for my sisters hen weekend and it enabled us to have relaxation and fun at the same time. We visited Ipswich and chartered a boat, stayed more local for dinner in the lovely town of Sudbury and had a night in our PJ's and cooked in the well equipped kitchen. All the facilities at the bunkhouse are 5 star, the beds are ridiculously comfortable. Best night sleep I've had a for a while and I know the other girls agreed! We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thanks for the glowing feedback and for leaving everywhere so tidy - so glad you had a happy time. And delighted to hear the beds are ridiculously comfortable! Look forward to welcoming you back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiesmit...
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic property for 20 people, excellent condition and facilities along with a perfect location.”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful weekend at the Brooder Bunkhouse. The bunkhouse was perfect for a party of 20 girls. The equipment in the property was first class, everything that you needed! Comfortable kitchen area to sit around and have drinks whilst cooking, perfect cosy lounge upstairs, with plenty of room for us to dance. The bedrooms were very good and lovely comfortable beds. Highly recommend the bunkhouse and will definitely return. The owners provided maps and guides for walks and the location was amazing.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Thank you for your lovely feedback and I'm so pleased you had such a happy weekend - thank you for leaving everywhere so immaculate. And please come again - and borrow the 20 bikes next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilarybus...
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect base for large, inter-generational family get-together”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Set in beautiful countryside, with plenty of outdoor space for a games-mad family. It exceeded all expectations in terms of value for money; well laid out for large groups, well equipped and comfortably furnished. Despite most of the accommodation being dorm style, everyone commented on how good the mattresses were, and we all loved the property's very individual, colourful style. Lots of good bathrooms and loos, so no queuing even at peak times! We only did one walk as this was a very overdue family catch up, and we mainly stayed around the house and garden, but it was clear from all the literature in the house, that the area would be an interesting one to explore. We would not hesitate to recommend this to friends or family- we had a wonderful weekend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thank you for that lovely review ... glad you found everywhere so comfortable and enjoyed the outdoor games - and all the colour of the bunkhouse! Please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellencave
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hen party in the gorgeous Suffolk countryside”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a fantastic weekend at the Bunkhouse - the accommodation is absolutely lovely and the surroundings are beautiful. The Bunkhouse is very comfortable and homely, with everything you could ever need. Lovely beds, kitchen and living room. Plenty of bathrooms and showers - a must for 15 ladies! We had the best fun, cooking together and eating round the lovely rustic farmhouse-style tables, playing games and doing crafts - as well as making a few cocktails! We did a wonderful circular walk to nearby Lavenham. It's a stunning little town, definitely worth a visit. Had lunch at Number Ten, which we would also recommend highly, the food was delicious and they catered for our large party without batting an eyelid. The owner, Juliet, came and greeted us and gave us information about the local area, which was a lovely friendly touch. To conclude - don't hesitate to book! It's such a great place to stay, I already want to go back - as do all the other ladies who stayed. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Thank you for that glowing feedback and for being such an easy group ... and leaving the bunkhouse immaculate. There is so much to do locally and in the bunkhouse - without having to spend a fortune - please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_EAE...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant beautiful accommodation for a number of families to get together”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The bunkhouse is really lovely, comfortable, beautiful accommodation. Bathrooms were clean and well finished. Really comfortable beds! It was a brilliant weekend for 3 families to meet and chill out together, walk around the countryside and enjoy time outdoors- even in february. The kitchen and dining area worked so well and the kitchen was really well equipped. It was a relaxing get away. Plenty of space for our guests, lovely bathrooms, brilliant games room and a very friendly host on hand.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thanks for this really encouraging review from one of our first guests! Glad the bunk beds were so comfortable and the farm was fun even in February! Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankelbra...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Husbands suprise 40th”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Wow! What a fab place, the bunkhouse is amazing. Great kitchen/dining space for entertaining the ping pong table keep the kids busy for hours, we will definatly book again!!
Highly recommend this for big groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for that great review and thank you for leaving the place so immaculate!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous accommodation at very reasonable cost!”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We were some of the first guests at the bunkhouse - so early that the turf had yet to be laid, but we could tell that once the grass had bedded in this was going to be a wonderful spot, looking out onto lovely rural views with plenty of walks possible right from the doorstop.

The bunkhouse is impeccably kitted out - there wasn't a single kitchen implement we were missing, the kitchen is cosy and has seating for large groups and there's a cosy sitting room up stairs with plenty of sofa space for all.

The bunks are gorgeously made and very comfortable. There's a big room that sleeps 10 in bunks, 2 much smaller rooms that sleep 2 each and then a further attic room with another 8 beds.

Only criticism - nowhere to put muddy boots when you come in from a walk as you walk straight into the kitchen - and we left them in the sheltered area outside the kitchen door, the rain still soaked them. Not sure what the solution is - maybe a covered boot rack outside the door?

Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for that nice review and glad it had everything you could need in the kitchen .... but you're absolutely right, a muddy boot rack is needed in addition to the covered area outside for when you've been for a walk on the farm - we're on the case! Please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing