We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tollgate

The Tollgate
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Freshly cooked food served with a rustic charm in a modern but relaxed atmosphere.
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
“best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went to the tollgate for a sunday roast i ordered the turkey when brought out i was impressed the turkey was tender and juicy the vegetables were cooked perfectly and the gravy was spot on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    70
    33
    33
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
B.S.E., Suffolk.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Food enjoyable, in a friendly setting.Revamp effective, seperate steak menu.Kitchen area fully visible,with flame grill.Toilets v.tidy.Ample off road parking.Look forward to return visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Everything was delicious from the appetizers to out main courses to the dessert! Great food and amazing service. I've been 3 times since defiantly my FAVORITE restaurant in Bury.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodLover1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good meal but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I went to the tollgate last month I felt the revamp looked great the tables set nicely and polite service we only had lunch and one course, the menu was small but I like that the food was to a standard I had the open steak sandwich which was cooked well but if I am honest was smothered in a sweet chilli sauce which killed the good quality beef and spoilt the perfect cooking of the meat!! All in all it was worth the money and I would eat there again but not in a rush I do feel tho it's defiantly a work in progress and it will find it's place well in the current market !!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moosethefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My first review on tripadvisor and well deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I ate here tonight and felt i had to write a review. Upon arrival i was seated by a waitress who was polite and knowledgeable about the menu. They took my drinks order which i received quickly along with at appetizer of olives and bread. I found the menu simple but varied with plenty of options. I chose the Chicken liver parfait as a starter and the fillet steak as a main. My starter arrived quickly and i was instantly impressed with its size and look. The parfait itself was very good and the accompanying chutney was outstanding. It was accompanied by a side salad which was lovely and fresh. Once i had finished my starter i did not have to wait too long for my main course. The steak was served on a wooden platter with potatoes, tomatoes, onion rings, green beans and a large flat mushroom. Every part of this dish deserves praise, although simple each item was cooked and season perfectly. The steak, which i ordered medium rare, was delicious and at around £18 was excellent value and cooked perfectly. It was definitely one of the better steaks i have had and the best i can remember for a long time.

After reading some of the negative reviews on here i find it impossible to believe that these people ate at the same place as i did.

I am looking forward to finding an excuse to come to the area again with work so i can eat here again.

If you are in the area looking for somewhere to eat, choosing somewhere other than this restaurant is a mistake. I cannot reccomend it highly enough

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daveg1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tollgate also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Tollgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing