We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of The Tollgate

The Tollgate
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Freshly cooked food served with a rustic charm in a modern but relaxed atmosphere.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Limited menu, food overdone and even burnt in some cases. Food lacked taste and long waiting time (1hr). No children's menu (surely a must for families) this pub was associated with the lindon tree previously and the legacy seems to live on. How this place has received its recent ratings is beyond me. Portion size was small and after leaving we went to Macky for a top up (how bad is that ) will not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    76
    36
    34
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous food and great service!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We've eaten at this restaurant twice in the last two months and each time it has been a most enjoyable experience. The food was absolutely gorgeous and the portion size is set just right. We took our 8 year old daughter and whilst they don't carry a children's menu they made her exactly what she'd asked for and hardly charged anything! It's clear that not only do they have a great chef on board but they also use high quality ingredients. The staff can't do enough for you and the ambiance is very relaxing, encouraging you to settle in for comfortable evening of fine wine and delicious food. I'm definitely making this venue my regular treat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“some of the best food around”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have visited both before and after the refurb. The food has always been pretty good but has really been stepped up a notch. The food was excellent quality, and cooked with skill and would recommend it to anyone. Surprised by some of the bad reviews as a lot of people have recommended it to me and I found the staff to be polite and helpful. Definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great food, good service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a pub with really good food. We went twice, a total of 6 meals plus an extra pud and we were all very happy. Steak, duck and chicken, all excellently cooked. The service was great and the staff very friendly. The puddings were good, and none of the portions were stingy. Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne10max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

First time we have eaten here since the re-form and can honestly say we were extremely pleased; the service was fantastic, the food? well that just blew us away. Limited selection of vegetarian options but waitress (Emily) went the extra mile to accommodate us and the results were fabulous. Can't remember the last time we had such an enjoyable meal in a superb environment. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tollgate also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Fornham St Martin, Bury St. Edmunds
Fornham All Saints, Bury St. Edmunds
 

Been to The Tollgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing