We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Pizza a la Romana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Bury St Edmunds offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy Pizza a la Romana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This chain restaurant makes an excellent thin crust pizza with many different options for toppings. I went to this one a couple of times before catching a movie at the Abbeygate and had a very nice experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank docdaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    113
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“better than most”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

we've eaten at many PX's around the UK and must say this is one of the better ones. Service was excellent, food well presented and tasty. in some Pizza Express restaurants we're sure the portions are getting smaller but this wasn't the case at Bury St Edmunds, we were all pleased with our choices! Good atmosphere with a range of different age groups too

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angelandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiningen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not the GOOD Italian food I'm used to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Cannot speak for others but I was not impressed with my meal. The Lasagne I ordered I cannot say that had any meat in it. Then the cheese was the same as what you find in those frozen Lasagne that people buy in stores... Not real cheese. I was hoping for home made lasagne. Plus a small so called "Garlic Bread" tasted as just warm bread with butter. I cannot speak for the other meals in the menu. But the Lasagne should be avoided if you are looking for a home made one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmjr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

For a quick easy standard meal in a beautiful location, with good tassting food, a spotless environment and very friendly and helpful staff, Pizza Express Bury St Edmunds is the place.

The food of course is the standard fare and pizza is pizza, but this restaurant managed to lift this up by 3 notches by their fabulous service. The place was busy, but nothing was too much trouble, with a staff that generally seemed to want to see happy customers. The food was fresh and piping hot, perfectly cooked and for Pizza, well I do go to Italy on a regular basis, and my Pizza was quite a good as any I would eat in Rome or Milan.

So a great experience in a chain I normally avoid!

Thank you Pizza Express Bury St Edmunds

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

For a family place to eat,this really is the best place to go,great food for all the kids.with plenty of choice,and the price is very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing