We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and modern”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cedar Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A romantic night in, or you can dine al fresco on the sun deck. The hot tub, with ample seating for four, offers that something special for a great relaxing break.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A romantic night in, or you can dine al fresco on the sun deck.
The hot tub, with ample seating for four, offers that something special for a great relaxing break.
Atmospheric lighting for those special meals in.
Stunning contemporary design with fully equipped kitchen, and adjoining dining area.
A spacious bright shower room with large shower enclosure.
Wake up in a king-size bed with French windows opening up onto the sun deck with hot tub close by.
Enjoy the private garden setting.
The high quality hot tub sits on the sun deck close to the bedroom doors.
A relaxing retreat, inside and out.
Will you be celebrating? Ask about our romantic package, for just £49 payable once here.
Upthorpe Lodges provide a private and quiet holiday retreat.
Close by is Wyken Hall, with gardens, restaurant, cafe and weekly farmers market.
A short walk away, the local wildlife reserve, Sid's Piece, has views beyond Stanton Mill.
Traditional timber-frame houses at Walsham le Willows, with two pubs and a prize-winning butchers.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey N
1 review
“Relaxing and modern”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Stayed here from Thursday to Sunday on a surprise anniversary present booked for us. The lodge was beautiful bright and modern. We arrived to a personalised welcome note from the owners with flowers cookies and a bottle of fizz to help us celebrate!
The weather was glorious that weekend perfect to enjoy the hot tub. We went to Diss one day, very quaint shops with a small market. Another day was spent in bustling Bury.Would defiantly recommend this little find to anyone and hope to visit again very soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to write your appreciative review, and we're glad to hear you discovered some local gems!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary s
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great accommodation for relaxing break”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our second visit and we chose Maple lodge for a change, but quite honestly they are all superb. We just chilled out visited Burt St Edmunds and a few farm shops etc. Made good use of the hot tub, very relaxing. It’s just nice for a couple to get away, and there are no screaming kids running around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2018
Thanks for returning to Upthorpe Lodges, and also for taking the time to post your review, much appreciated! We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer6741...
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lodge was brilliant, Bury Saint Edmunds was too. My wife had too leave early because she had a bad back, but, the time we stayed was brilliant!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thanks very much for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge and we were sorry you had to leave sooner than intended. We hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and Tranquil with everything that you would need”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great quiet location, arrived to a welcome pack of goodies and a lovely letter from Deb and Ian. Hot tub was lovely and hot on arrival and was beckoning us in as soon as we got there. Had fish and chips the first night and they are gorgeous. Second day went into bury then out for a meal at the Dog in Norton, was lovely but quite busy. Third day went to Bury Abbey and Cathedral, what a sight and the cafe in the cathedral does amazing cream teas!. Fourth day we pottered about and went for a walk around the fields and ventured out to the Blue Boar for a meal, which was amazing a definitely a look again. Friday came and we had to leave, but it was an amazing week and helped us unwind and relax with the added aid of the Hot Tub which is amazing at night seeing bats fly overhead. We will be back and hope to try one of the new lodges next time. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Good to hear you made the most of your stay and we hope to see you both again. Thanks very much for your kind review. (The Dog does get quite busy but never disappoints - they do a very good value menu every Monday evening but pre-booking recommended.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
What more can we say? Thanks so much for taking the time to submit your review and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne H
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing Peaceful Birthday getaway”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just returned from a great relaxing weekend break at Cedar Lodge. The lodge is stunning, beautifully decorated,spacious and has everthing you want - including an amazing hot tub ( even in the middle of November). Welcome pack on arrival is a nice touch and the owners are very helpful.Only 20 minutes drive from Bury St Edmonds - nice shopping centre with all the chains,a few independent shops and loads of eateries. We ate at the Giggling Squid Thai restaurant reall nice. Would highly recommend this lodge - very private and peaceful and expectional value for money - will return again. Thank you for a lovely stay,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the layout of the lodge
Liked least: if you had no car - getting around would be difficult
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate it. Good to hear about the Giggling Squid - a new one to us so we'll give it a try. Hope to see you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruddwendy
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birch Lodge, Upthorpe Lodges. Just fab!”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Delighted with this peach of a holiday let and so glad we found it. Perfectly located for a short get away, situated about 1 hour from home. Nearby you can visit Bury St Edmunds, Cambridge and Newmarket, with Constable Country to the South. Many nice walks and places to eat .Lodge itself was perfect - tastefully furnished, newly built, clean and well-equipped with modern fitted kitchen, king size bed, hot tub and lots of nice added touches. Loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and facilities
Liked least: Had a little trouble finding it as directions weren't accurate
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Good to hear you found plenty to do nearby, and thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing