We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just a one night stay and we thought the building was lovely, the staff friendly and would have liked to have taken the bed home with me. The best nights sleep I have had in ages. The room was clean and the linen spotless. I had a lovely mirror for doing my makeup with a light over and a convenient chair. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful and the service excellent.
As the Hotel had no evening dining facility one might consider it more a bed and breakfast but they supplied a map of the town and every eatery within it, all a short walk from their front door. On our walk around Bury we passed other Hotels and in comparison they looked cold and bleak whereas the Abbey was warm and welcoming. A good find.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 177 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

The building is full of old world character but if they are going to compete with the other facilities offered in Bury St Edmunds then they need to introduce some mod cons. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable but simple things like decent lighting and a well placed mirror would have made a difference. Missing light bulbs and a 'manually operated' roller blind did not help.The bathroom was in need of make over and basic facilities like a shower!.

Breakfast was fine but a little concerned that a number of guests had to wait for around 30 minutes to be seated as it appeared that the 'breakfast room' could not accommodate all guests in one sitting.

Another concern (apologies if I have missed this on their website) but if you had any type problem with mobility a number of the rooms were not accessible due to narrow, steep staircases. This should be made clear.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at this lovely, charming place on 7th dec just for a night. Wanted to use the angel but that was full. What a lovely surprise. We were welcomed by the owner who is obviously proud of his hotel. The reception is in the hall but that is quaint and informal. We were in one of the rooms at the back, clean, well presented and a really comfortable bed. The shower room was not large , but then who would bring a cat to swing round in it anyway. It was clean and plenty of hot water. Very peaceful sleep and breakfast was available up to 10am. Full English and included. That makes a lovely change. Also free parking at rear, where we were allowed to leave a car all day Sunday until we left.

It's not 5 star but having stayed in hotels that claim to be quality , The Abbey puts some of those to shame. We consider ourselves lucky that The Angel was full. Bury st Edmunds is a fantastic place this time of the year.

Great stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We've just returned from a night at the Abbey Hotel and what a very pleasant one it was. It has to be the quietest stay in a hotel with the comfiest bed I've had for years. I hate noisy rooms and almost without fail will be plagued by extract fans, plumbing, the neighbours, the lifts, etc. Its me being fussy, but I can't get to sleep unless its properly quiet! (yes, I do use ear plugs for most hotels!) So 10/10 for the Abbey, the ear plugs didn't go in!
Its only a small place, but bags of character, clean and tidy. All too often having a few exposed timber beams in a place seems to be an excuse for everything else to be a bit old as well, but the Abbey has the air of somewhere really cared for and looked after properly.
The breakfast was up there too. I'll give them another 10/10, good ingredients well cooked, with plenty of cereals, fruit and yoghurts too.
Add to this the attentive and helpful management and staff and its somewhere that's worth returning to.
The car park is a bit tight as has been mentioned, but its manageable.
Its only a short walk into the centre of Bury.
We had room 1 which is on the back of the front section of the hotel so possibly quieter as not on the street, but its not a particularly busy road, and traffic is never as annoying as the other issues mentioned above!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

stayed with work, thought hotel was really good. service was friendly and helpful throughout stay. breakfast was v good with wide choice. would stay again and recommend to anyone staying in Bury St. Edmunds. bed very comfortable so great nights sleep. facilities good, wifi, flat-screen etc. bathroom a little dated but very clean so no complaints at all. it is the town centre so very handy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013. Booked in room 12, it was a 2 bedroom flat away from the main building on a main road. Small kitchen and reasonable sized shower room. Traffic noise at night was a problem as the secondary glazing did not fully close but otherwise the main bedroom was very good. Bed was large and comfortable. Kitchen had everything you needed. Other than a few bits of fluff on the kitchen floor it was reasonably clean and well maintained. The heating was excellent, everywhere was warm as there was a cold snap while we were there. The Hotel only served breakfast, buffet or whatever you wanted cooked to order. Could not fault it, good food cooked perfectly and served by friendly staff. Warning, do not visit if you are dieting. The Hotel is in a good location 10 minute walk from the town centre, the Hotel car park is quite small, I had no problems but saw others who arrived late evening struggle to park. Overall I would recommend this historic Hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mikeymost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just got back from a weekend staying here. Our room was beautiful and a bottle of champagne in the fridge, made it a lovely anniversary weekend. Thank you everyone was friendly, will definitely recommend this hotel, and if we return to bury we will stay here .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank vagoRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
419 reviews
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
233 reviews
9.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: 35 Southgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range: $148 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing