We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DELIGHTFUL, COMFY, WELCOMING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL, COMFY, WELCOMING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This well-located, quaint hotel, with beams, fireplace & genuine period features, really delivers what it promises. When the wi-fi didn't work, the charming man on Front Desk immediately ordered his IT man to fix it & the next day I had a fast & reliable Internet access. It's available throughout the hotel. Breakfast is excellent, freshly cooked, generous portions & they offer KIPPERS! It is served smilingly in a pleasant, bright dining room. The family room I stayed in was quiet & comfy, with microwave in kitchen, spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay here again.The staff are very nice indeed, helpful & anxious to please.
The only downside is that there is NO phone in the room.

Room Tip: Room 10 (separate from the main hotel,) has its own entrance, is very quiet, with flat panel TV, sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordhighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It was a great pleasure to have to visit us and I'm very glad you were so delighted with your room and the staff.
I hope the rest of your tour goes as well as your Bury St Edmunds stop.
Quinton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    52
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
84
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancashire lass
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in a family room which is like a little house across the car park. downstairs there was a little kitchenette (fridge, sink, hospitality tray and microwave), a bathroom with a bath and shower cubicle, and two single beds. there are steep stairs to a mezzanine area with a double bed.

The downsides were that the double bed was quite uncomfortable (we both kept rolling out of it), the decor was a bit tired, and the kettle was very furred up. the cups could have been a bit cleaner as well. the good things about this room were that as a family, we didn't have to worry about disturbing other guests, it was nice to have a sleeping area away from the children, and the biscuits were good quality.

The room was about £110 for one night, which I think was pretty reasonable for a family of four. it is about 10 minutes walk into Bury.

Breakfast was a mixed experience as the cereals were not very child friendly (muesli, shredded wheat etc) usually there is at least one coco-pop type cereal. the fresh strawberries were lovely, and you could make your own toast. I have to say I don't really want to share a jar of nutella with all the other guests though.

the cooked breakfast came promptly and was hot and a good quantity. the sausages were tough, I have never experienced this before and did wonder why this could be, since they were not of the premium variety. the staff serving are nice and very helpful, and the sitting area has a nice ambience about it.

all in all it was a good experience I am just trying to paint an honest picture of our stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marthasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Please don't be put off by the exterior which does not give away the beatuful rooms that are beyond. Last minute stay in Bury St Edmunds and was shown a room with a wonderful huge fireplace, beautiful bed, crisp linen and period features. Breakfast was excellent and the host was attentative and charming. Was shown the other rooms in the morning and would be happy sleeping in all of them, all have their own character and if you love sleeping the night in a period property but with beautful crisp bedlinen etc this is the one!

Room Tip: All rooms are different but equal in charm & quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddington
Level Contributor
465 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our third stay and just as good as previous occlusions with a warm welcome, clean tidy rooms and an amazing breakfast choice (enough to keep you going for the whole day). Close to the city centre so that great restaurants and places of interest a just 10 minutes away. Well be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Lovely outside and ground floor sitting area, room and upstairs area bit tired and dated, bathroom definitely needs renovating, really comfy bed. Best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel, all well presented and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ada1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here with my husband whilst on a two night break in Bury St Edmunds.
We were requiring a reasonably priced hotel for a short break and this satisfied that requirement.It was ideally located in walking distance of the centre of Bury St Edmunds.
When we arrived we were directed from the main building to an adjacent one where our room was located. The room itself was adequate for the price, though could of perhaps done with a bit more attention to cleaning of the woodwork and the bathroom. The room was Tudor in date I think, and had wooden beams and uneven floors which added to the ambience.
Breakfast was served in the main building and the staff were friendly and efficient and happy to chat.
In all if you are wanting a reasonably priced accommodation with a small personable experience for a short break this is fine, but do not expect anything like the larger or more expensive hotels

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsLassNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

From the very warm welcome and the lovely room to the delicious breakfast we could not fault our stay at the Abbey Hotel. Room 9 was very spacious and because it is on the back it was quiet too. The hotel is ideally situated for the delights of Bury St Edmunds - walking distance to the gorgeous theatre, the brewery and the town centre with its lovely cathedral and the Abbey Gardens. The recommendations for eating out were good too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#10 of 56 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: 35 Southgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing