We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a Curates Egg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dog & Partridge
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bit of a Curates Egg!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Dog & Partridge is more of a pub with rooms than a Hotel with a bar. The pub side is very popular and as a consequence very busy & quite noisy - which can carry on till quite late. There is very little street parking nearby & the pub car park is miniscule - if you do get a space you are likely to find yourself trapped in by other cars. Food is not at all bad & reasonably priced and the whole pub side has a very buzzy atmosphere with friendly staff - quite nice,
But the rooms are another thing altogether - or at least the one had. It was really very unpleasant, stained upholstery, nasty smell, felt very grubby. Looking at other reviews they can't all be that bad, but I can only judge by the one we had - Ugh!

Room Tip: Don't get ours - can't remember the room number, sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    15
    4
    9
See reviews for
10
57
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Dog and Partridge as she was attending a training course at the Greene King Brewery head office and this hotel was ideally placed (practically opposite).
The rooms are not actually in or over the pub but in the period property next door with its own entrance including a pleasant lobby area.
The room itself was a good size, bed enormous and very comfortable, nice en suite - all nice and clean.
Helpful friendly staff, very accomodating.
Entrance to the tiny car park is at the back of the pub in Bridewell Lane.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

the dog and partridge has an excellent restaurant and pub. faultless. however the attached hotel is awful. the rooms are old fashioned and smell mouldy. there bathroom was not clean. the net curtains were disgusting. our duvet cover had a tear in it.

we had booked a family room for 3. we had a double bed and some folded up duvets on the floor (as a bed for our 12 year old daughter). we complained and they halved the cost of our room.

we went to bury for the christmas market which was excellent and we would definitely go again. we would eat and drink at the dog and partridge again for sure but we would 100% choose another hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This B and B was fine. The room was huge, well equipped and clean. Parking was ok as pub staff were accomodating with shuffling cars around to fit. Breakfast was OK, but that's all. Nothing spectacular for the price of the B and B. Sky tv news was blaring out during breakfast, which I find a little annoying. I would have preferred a radio. Don't get caught out by the two meals for £9.95 all day Mon to Fri. This is off of a special menu at the bar, but this is very unclear from the blackboard outside in the garden area. Having said that, the food we had for our evening meal was very good, if a little pricy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

After reading previous reviews, was a alittle worried but we had to go with this as it was best located for a christening we were going to. Was nicely surprised - it is a lovely pub, with great food, and a lively atmosphere. Welcomed nicely, showed to room etc. Room fine, and bed very comfortable. Bathroom good. Could have been noisy as on a road, but we did not struggle to sleep. We did get parked on car park, but it is quite small, and staff block you in - but happy to move if they need to - fine if you ask me for free parking in the town centre!! Breakfast very good, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyRickDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

we stayed for new years eve. we arrived to a very warm welcome. we were shown to our rooms by the manager and he shown us everything in the room then he explained how to use them. in the evening we went to the bar and a table had been reserved for our meal. the meal was excellent and the price very cheap. i would recommend this little hotel to everyone i will give it five stars and like to say thank you again to all the staff for a excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike315939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The Dog and Partridge is a large old pub on the edge of the historic centre of Bury St Edmunds, on the mediaeval street grid and just outside the precinct of the old abbey, almost opposite St Mary's Church (regarded as one of Suffolk's most beautiful parish churches) and the Greene King brewery and very close to the abbey ruins, the cathedral and tourist gem Abbeygate Street. The B&B rooms are housed in an adjoining building with its own entrance that was once a brewery itself.

My room, on the first floor, was big and well-appointed with a huge double bed, a generous welcome tray, a largish flat screen TV, a good en suite shower/toilet, a desk, a sofa and plenty of clothes storage. It was very clean, though with a few little signs of neglect -- cracked trunking by the desk with pieces still lying on the floor, and worn bits and stains on the sofa.

Clearly the main business here is running the pub and the bar staff who dealt with me seemed unfamiliar with the procedures of the B&B side. Highly annoyingly as it had been a factor in my choice of accommodation, the promised Wifi failed to work throughout my visit despite promises they'd try to get it fixed -- you could log in but there was no internet access and it seemed nobody had a clue how to deal with it.

Breakfast was served in the pub and was pretty good, though I miss tea in proper pots. The only problem was nobody took the trouble to warn me that it was later at weekends. I checked on the information in the room which said it was served from 0800 on Sundays, but it turned out to be from 0830, and as this was too late for me, I ended up leaning perhaps a little undeservedly heavily on a junior staff member to make me some toast -- she was very friendly and obliging as best she could be.

Another issue was the car park which is tiny and badly managed, with customers encouraged to box each other in. Luckily I wasn't using my car on the days this happened to me but it's certainly something to watch.

The pub, inevitably a Greene King house, is clearly very popular in its own right and does quite a range of food and drink, though it's one of those places where the food turns out to be not quite as nice as it looked on the menu. It also attracts quite a youthful and boisterous crowd, though little noise penetrated to my first floor room. Some of the cask beer wasn't in the best condition: if you're after exemplary local brews you're better off going to the Rose and Crown, a proper old school local round the corner in Whiting Street.

As my work on this visit was connected with the pub and brewery they'd given me a discount but I still felt let down, particularly by the wifi issue.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirkgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge

Property: The Dog & Partridge
Address: 29 Crown Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog And Partridge
The Dog & Partridge Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The Dog & Partridge Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing