We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, relaxing and beautiful surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cart Lodge

Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tnight201...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil, relaxing and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had a wonderful celebratory long weekend. Most relaxing and recharging. The bird wildlife outside the window was mesmerizing! Not far from Bury St Edmunds. Perfect weekend. Had a 50th wedding anniversary gathering. Everyone who came fell in love with the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
I'm so glad that your visitors enjoyed the surroundings. The wildlife and gardens seem to get better every year. Hope you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJ2016BN
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed for Christmas and Cart Lodge was just super. Very well equipped as was the other barn we had stayed in previously.
Lovely and warm property which housed us all very well (we were seven).
Most enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2017
I'm so glad you enjoyed Christmas at Lackford Lakes Barns. It is a lovely place to stay during the winter because there's still lots to see on the nature reserve and the cottages are so well insulated and warm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B
Villefranche-du-Perigord, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely homely place to stay with idyllic surroundings. Plenty of space for all the family with open plan lounge and kitchen.. Great places to visit nearby and walk to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt so comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Thank you, the Cartlodge is very spacious inside. The garden outside has become more and more established and has become quite private with a 6 foot perimeter hedge all around. Percy the peacock tends to take flight at dusk from the Cartlodge roof into a nearby tall oak tree- it's quite a sight!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S
1 review
“Beautiful Barn in ideal surroundings”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Cart Lodge. The lodge was well equipped and a perfect base for the surrounding area. The kids particularly liked feeding the resident peacock and enjoyed walking around the lakes. It was a pleasant surprise to find a cupboard full of games and toys under the stairs and these were put to good use throughout our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
We try to stock all of our barns with games, books, puzzles and toys. We also have a games room with table tennis, pool and darts. The lakes are beautiful for walks and birdwatching.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed the warmth, the cottages are very well insulated and double glazed so they do retain their heat really well. We're lucky to be surrounded by the Lakes and some of the best bird watching is at this time of the year when migratory birds are over wintering here. We have lots of return visitors and we would very much like for you to come again. Many thanks for your excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Villefranche-du-Perigord, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The open plan effect
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed the location, we are very conveniently located for Hengrave Hall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kaur_parm
uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely accommodation, very spacious and homely.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

stayed here with my husband and young children (3 & 5months) in Dec 15. Lovely property just outside of bury st edmunds. large spacious property, all the amenities included. the owners even had a lovely christmas set up!

i would highlight the floor boards are bit creaky, which wouldn't bother me usually but with 2 small children it can be abit of pain not waking them up whist they sleep if you are walking around, there is also very weak phone coverage.

i would deffo recommend and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious property, well equippe, pretty location.
Liked least: floor boards creaking
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2016
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. The most reliable mobile network in the immediate area of the barns is Vodafone, I always try to remind people that emergency calls are picked up by the best functioning operator even if their own network isn't working so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing