We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect for us”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cart Lodge

Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
richm642
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“perfect for us”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

plenty of space and really comfortable. We spent more time indoors than we had planned as the weather was a little "British" but it felt really homely. We were staying in Suffolk for a family wedding and decided to make a week of it along with family from Chicago.

The bedrooms were great, the kids loved having their own rooms and plenty of space to themselves.

Location was perfect for us although if you're planning on nights out book taxis in advance - There aren't enough in Bury!

a lot of essentials were provided and the jg of milk in teh fridge was a lovely touch

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ease of key pick up with the keysafe was great for us arriving late
Liked least: the rain ;)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Thank you for bringing these problems to our attention, we were surprised as your experience is unusual and not what we expect. The dishwasher has been repaired and its useful to know that the showers weren't draining away efficiently as we have an excellent plumbing gadget to deal with this.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the location, the garden and the games room and thank you for taking time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and cleanliness.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to have such a good and conscientious housekeeper Sue who works really hard restocking and getting everything ready before guests arrive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HarleyTit...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant house, great facilities and helpful owners”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Cart Lodge for Christmas 2014. We felt the house was even nicer/better than the pictures conveyed (always nice to have a place that exceeds your expectations). The open-plan living space is perfect for family gatherings and for hosting larger groups should you need to and the on-site games room makes for a brilliant over-flow option for kids that want a little bit of extra stimulation and variety of activities.

The house was warm and spacious, with lots of room to spread out and 2 very large rooms that can easily accommodate travel cots. The only negative was the spotty reception for mobiles but that may have just been O2.

I always think that the owners/managers of rentals can either significantly add to or detract from the experience and in this case the owner (Emma Ramsay) definitely added positively to our stay. The first thing we noticed when we walked in was the Christmas tree that had been put up for us (a very nice touch as we had young children that were desperately excited about Christmas), there were also some complimentary chocolates on the kitchen counter and fresh milk in the fridge. In one of the cupboards there was a large box of toys and lego which was also brilliant and various books got in the house got us out of a bind as we had somehow forgotten to pack kids books (so thanks again for that).

All in all, a brilliant house and a fantastic holiday.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living space and family areas (play room etc.)
Liked least: Lack of mobile reception
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2015
Thank you for such a positive review and I do hope you'll come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing